Skip to Main Content

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web)

A **free** bibliographic management tool which imports and stores citations from our Library's wealth of electronic databases, and facilitates writing papers.

Popular ProQuest Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
Accounting & Tax
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
Aqualine
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Banking Information Source
Biological Sciences
BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
British Humanities Index (BHI)
Business Dateline
Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies
Canadian Research Index
CBCA Family of Indexes including Business, Education and Reference
COS Funding Opportunities
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Toronto
EconLit
Environmental Impact Statements
Environmental Science and Pollution Management
ERIC
FRANCIS
Hoover's Company Profiles
Index Islamicus
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
International Index to Music Periodicals
International Index to Performing Arts
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
MLA International Bibliography
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service)
PAIS
Pharmaceutical News Index
Philosopher's Index
Physical Education Index
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
PsycARTICLES
PsycCRITIQUES
PsycINFO
Social Services Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Technology Research Database

along with other ProQuest databases

Direct Export into EndNote Basic

Search your Topic in one of the many PROQUEST databases.

Select your citations.

Choose Export

In the Export Citation List box, choose -

Export to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager

Click Continue

In the Dialogue Box choose Open with Other

Look for and choose Research Soft Direct Export Helper

Another Dialogue Box will open.

Choose EndNote Basic

Citations from the OVID databases are automatically added to the Unfiled Folder.

Find and Save Citations with RIS

Choose your citations from your search results.

Choose the Export function.

In the Dialogue Box choose Export to RIS

Choose Continue

Note: Your citations will be saved as TXT.

Import Citations as RIS Files into EndNote Basic

In EndNote Basic, prepare to import the citations.

Collect Tab
Import References

Select RefMan RIS from the list of Import Option Favorites

Copy it to the Favorites List

Find the proquestcitations.txt file

Choose the RefMan RIS import option

Send it to the Unfiled Group (default)

OR

create a New Group.

Import Filter Tip

Choose one of many Proquest databases by simply choosing See List from the top of the page.

Remember that citations are saved as RIS even though the file appears with the .txt extention.