Skip to main content

Gerstein Science Information Centre

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web)

A **free** bibliographic management tool which imports and stores citations from our Library's wealth of electronic databases, and facilitates writing papers.

OVID Databases

Other Ovid Databases:

  • AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
  • A-V Online
  • Books@OVID
  • CAB Abstracts
  • Embase
  • Health and Psychological Instruments
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  • International Index to Film Periodicals
  • International Index to TV Periodicals
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
  • International Policital Science Abstracts
  • Journals@OVID Full Text
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
  • OVID Healthstar
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • PsycINFO
  • Transport Database
  • Zoological Record

Direct Export into EndNote Basic

Select your citations.
Choose Export.
 
In the Export Citation List box, choose the following options -
Export to RIS
Select Fields to Display Complete Reference
Click Export Citations
 
In the Dialogue Box choose Open with Other
Look for and choose Research Soft Direct Export Helper
 
Another Dialogue Box will open.
Choose EndNote Basic 
Citations from the OVID databases are automatically added to the Unfiled Folder.

Find and Save Citations as RIS

Search your Topic in one of the many OVID databases.
Select your citations
Choose Export.
 
In the Export Citation List box, choose the folllowing options -
Export to RIS
Select Fields to Display Complete Reference

Click Export Citations

Save the .ris file to the desktop or other device.

Import Citations as RIS Files into EndNote Online

In EndNote Basic, prepare to import the citations.
  • Collect Tab
  • Import References
Select RefMan RIS from the list of Import Option Favorites
Copy it to the Favorites List
 
Find the .ris file
Choose the RefMan RIS import option
Send it to the Unfiled Group (default) or
create a New Group.
 

Export / Import Filter Tips

Different versions of the Web 'X' series have different requirements.

The Export / Import Filter recommended here works best with the different versions of EndNote Web and with the U of T databases.