Research Guides: Grey Literature and Statistics for Dentistry: International Resources

International Organizations

The World Health Organization (WHO) is "the directing and coordinating authority on international health within the United Nations' system." They produce and publish a wide variety of informational resources with a focus on oral health.

World Health Organization - Oral Health
Focused on oral health in various countries and provides useful information in reports and publications regarding oral health challenges around the world. Latest Oral Health Report was published in November 2022.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data by Country
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States.
Oral Health Database
The WHO Oral Health Country/Area Profile Programme (CAPP) database provides information on oral diseases and health services for different countries/areas. Data is based on national oral health surveys, publications from national health bulletins, and personal communications.
Global oral health status report: towards universal health coverage for oral health by 2030
The WHO Global oral health status report reviews the most recent data on major oral diseases, risk factors, health system challenges and opportunities for reform. The report’s clear conclusion is that the status of global oral health is alarming and requires urgent action. The report will serve as a reference for policy-makers and an orientation for a wide range of stakeholders across different sectors to guide advocacy towards better prioritization of oral health in global, regional and national contexts. In addition, the report provides, as a separate online resource, the first-ever country oral health profiles for all 194 WHO Member States, giving unique insights into key areas and markers of oral health that are relevant for decision-makers.
Seventy-Fourth World Health Assembly, WHA74.5
Nearly 20 years after the publication of The World Oral Health Report 2003 and in alignment with the landmark WHA74.5 resolution on oral health (2021), the GOHSR will serve as a reference for policy-makers and provide orientation for a wide range of stakeholders across different sectors; and guide the advocacy process towards better prioritization of oral health in global, regional and national contexts.

Organizations and Professional Associations

Below is a list of additional international organizations and databases providing grey literature and statistics on oral health and dentistry.

Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry
Based in the Dental Services Research Unit at the School of Dentistry, University of Dundee, the Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry offers appraisal tools and resources to assist in evidence-based dental practice.
European Academy of Paediatric Dentistry
Access the EAPD's policies, reccommendations and guidelines regarding provision of dental health care for children.
FDI World Dental Federation
Resources freely available on the FDI World Dental Federation's website include an extensive list of annual reports, brochures, declarations, manuals, proceedings, policy statements, surveys, white papers and more. International data sources include the World Health Organization, WHO Collaborative Centers in Niigata and Malmö University, World Bank and Globocan.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
NICE is a non-departmental government body providing public health guidance in the U.K. Use NICE Pathways and NICE Guidance databases to access oral health guidelines published by the organization.
Open Grey
The system of information on grey literature in Europe. The results provide a list of theses, reports, conference proceedings, and governmental information in various languages including English. Provides library where the item is held.
RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is an international research organization with a focus on public policy. Provides access to a wide variety of public policy papers, with a section on health and health care and a small selection of articles and reports on dentistry, primarily focusing on insurance/payment and oral health literacy.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (R3): Oral Cancer Gene Database
The Oral Cancer Gene Database is an initiative of the Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research, and Education in Cancer in Navi Mumbai. Search R3 for additional topical research datasets from universities and researchers internationally.
Special Care Dentistry Association
An international organization for oral health professionals offering resources to assist with the provision of dental care for individuals with special needs. On their website, you can find educational fact sheets, policy statements, clinical guidelines, press releases and more. Also visit their annually updated Resource Guide, which lists products available for oral health professionals practicing special care dentistry.
UNData
A key public resource for international statistics. Search for "dental," "dentistry," and "oral hygiene," to find relevant data.
World Bank
World Bank is a global partnership between "five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries." World Bank is a useful resource for comprehensive Health Data and Statistics, with graphical representations of quantitative health research across a number of different indicators. Search their HealthStats Database to find information about specific topics.
International Association for Dental Research
"In the online journals you’ll find RSS feeds and social bookmarking to enhance your reading and sharing experience, along with OnlineFirst, by which forthcoming articles are published online before they are scheduled to appear in print."

Grey Literature and Statistics for Dentistry

International Organizations

Organizations and Professional Associations

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us