Grey Literature and Statistics for Dentistry

The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion's Division of Oral Health. Explore the CDC's freely available Research and Publications as well as their many Oral Health Data Tools including:
- Oral Health Data: "The Oral Health Data website contains data for indicators from the National Oral Health Surveillance System (NOHSS), Water Fluoridation Statistics biennial reports, and the annual Synopses of State Oral Health Programs. The NOHSS is based on a set of surveillance indicators developed by consensus among the CDC, the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE), and the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD)."
- My Water's Fluoride: "Find information about your local water system's fluoridation status. Currently available only for states that voluntarily participate in the Water Fluoridation Reporting System (WFRS)."
- Water Fluoridation Reporting System (WFRS): "A water fluoridation monitoring tool for state and tribal water fluoridation program managers and oral health program directors or managers. This system requires special authorization for access. WFRS is the data source for the annual fluoridation information in the National Oral Health Surveillance System."
- Explore their Indigenous Oral Health portal, organized by location
For more info about the NOHSS, see here.

Data from the CDC's National Center for Health Statistics.

Publications and reports related to hazards, exposures, diseases, injuries, chemicals, etc. in the dentistry environment. Use NIOSHTIC-2 (a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and journal articles supported by NIOSH) to find grey literature related to the dental profession.

Downloadable public-use data files through the CDC's FTP file server offer access to data sets, documentation and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems.

Information about FDA-approved brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter human drugs and biological therapeutic products. Their drug database Drugs@FDA includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. Through this database, the majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998. You must search for drugs specifically by name. For a list of additional drug databases, see here.

Offers information on the testing and regulation of medical devices, including dentistry related devices such as dental composite resin, bone graft substitutes, and x-ray equipment. Search Devices@FDA, "a catalog of cleared and approved medical device information from FDA." Also see their list of additional medical devices databases.

A specialty organization in prosthetic dentistry, the Academy of Prosthodontics includes educators, clinicians and leaders in the field. Visit their website for newsletters, conference proceedings, and The Glossary of Prosthodontic Terms (now in its ninth edition).

The AACD provides free access to newsletters, surveys and research data on their website. Credentialing guides are also available for purchase. To view their wide variety of educational resources for patients, including descriptions of cosmetic dentistry procedures and concerns, see here.

Access credentialing information (including free study guide), conference posters, newsletters, blog posts, press releases and facts & figures related to implant dentistry on the AAID's website. The organization also produces patient resources such as fact sheets and an implant dentistry glossary.

This organization focuses on the integration of medicine and dentistry. Their website offers free clinical practice statements and newsletters, as well as clinician's guides available for purchase.

The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry includes a number of free grey literature and statistics resources about oral health care for children. These include brochures as well as oral health definitions, policies, and recommendations. Visit their Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center for additional information such as technical briefs, children's health data, practice characteristics data, state dental periodicity schedules and legislation maps.

A glossary of periodontal terms, as well as clinical and scientific papers including AAP-commissioned reviews, parameters of care, position papers, and Academy statements can be found on the American Academy of Periodontology's website.

Visit the website of the American Association of Endodontists for freely accessible clinical resources including their Guide to Clinical Endodontics, Glossary of Endodontic Terms, and additional guidelines and position papers. They also provide a number of tools and guidelines for treatment planning. Another useful resource is the AAE's Regenerative Database, an ongoing data collection project that aims to "establish best practices for treatment and future research on the incompletely developed tooth with a necrotic pulp."

The American Association of Orthodontics provides information about treatment options and other educational materials for patients. Press releases and blog posts can also be found on their website.

Visit the American Dental Association website for documents relating to dental products, professional conduct, ethics and procedures. Their Health Policy Institute provides publications, data, fact sheets, and statistics offering critical policy knowledge regarding the U.S. dental care system. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry is particularly useful for accessing systematic reviews, critical summaries, and clinical practice guidelines, along with a wealth of other resources.

The Publications and Data page of the ADEA's website features a combination of free and for-purchase guides, links to newsletters, and other information resources. Their Data, Analysis & Research Center offers statistics and other information on dental education topics based on data from the association's annual surveys as well as other sources.

Reports, resources, and best practices related to dental public health.

Federal agency for improving U.S. oral health through research and a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Visit their Data and Statistics page to view data by topic or population, current oral health estimates, and reports.

A national center based out of Georgetown University that focuses on serving the maternal and child health community with oral health resources. Resources for professionals include fact sheets, guidelines, conference proceedings, and policy papers.

A database of privately and publicly funded clinical trials conducted around the world, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry and curated database recognized by the World Health Organization (WHO) and International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable by keyword.

A bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Public Health alerts readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. Can be searched by keyword. As of January 2017, the Grey Literature Report website and database was discontinued and will no longer be updated, but resources remain accessible.

Search "dental," "dentistry," "oral health," etc. Or, explore a Dataverse from another institution.

Use the Science.gov search engine to find federal science information from the U.S. in a number of different formats.

Use the Trip search engine to locate clinical research evidence easily and efficiently. View the many tips and tutorials provided on their website for assistance.