Research Guides: Education: K-12 Teaching Resources: Lesson Plans &amp; Learning Objects

Finding Lesson Plans

There are many different places to search for lesson plans and information about lesson planning:

Print and online books available through the OISE / University of Toronto Libraries
Licensed education databases and online resources
Numerous openly available databases and websites

Information about some of the many key resources for lesson plans and lesson planning are included on this page.

Finding Lesson Plans in Library Books and eBooks

To find books available at the OISE Library and ebooks available online through the University of Toronto Libraries:

Type "lesson planning" in LibrarySearch.
Search.
On the left hand side of the screen, select OISE/UT Library filter for print materials, or select ONLINE.

Finding Lesson Plans in Library Databases

Some educators publish lesson plans in journals. These lesson plans are often available through education databases such as ERIC, CBCA Education, and Education Sources which have been licensed by the University of Toronto Libraries.

To find lesson plans in the ERIC database:

Type "lesson plans" in the first search box.
Select "Subject Heading" in the drop-down menu.
Type your keyword(s) on the second line (for example, algebra).

To find lesson plans in CBCA Education and Education Source:

Type "lesson plans" OR "lesson planning" in the first search box.
Select "Subject" in Education Source.
Type your keyword(s) on the second line (for example, algebra).

Lesson Plans Across Subjects: Resource Banks

CBC Digital Archives: Education Materials
Activities, assignments, projects, webquests, and downloadable assessment pages and rubrics which build on the materials presented in the CBC Digital Archives site. Resources can be downloaded, modified, and reproduced for the classroom.
CBC Podcasts in Class
A set of original podcasts and accompanying teaching resources (including custom-made lesson plans, slides, handouts, and videos featuring CBC hosts). These guides were written and vetted by teachers who work across a variety of boards across Canada. All materials related to these guides are available free of charge.
Cube for Teachers
An interactive and collaborative database for teachers in Ontario and B.C. The database contains lesson plans and activities, and can be searched by grade, subject, strand, and expectation in the Ontario curriculum. Register for a free account to search for lesson plans and activities and also to join discussion groups with other teachers.
Ophea: Health and Physical Education Curriculum Resources
essential resources for those teaching physical and health education. Resources are licensed and available online to University of Toronto students, staff, and faculty. Log in using your UTORid and password.
Ophea: Health and Physical Education Ontario Safety Guidelines
Essential resources for those teaching physical and health education. Resources are licensed and available online to University of Toronto students, staff, and faculty. Log in using your UTORid and password.
Remote Teaching
Created in March 2020, this collection is intended to support both remote and in-person teaching. Educators can explore diverse resources across subject areas.
Taking it Global Education (TIGed): Global Education Resources
An openly available online database of lesson plans, research and data, videos, and educational games for the K-12 classroom. The TIGed site also includes other resources, such as guides on best practices designed for teachers looking to bring global issues and perspectives into the classroom.
Toronto Public Library
The Toronto Public Library catalogue provides links to over 40 websites with lesson plans in all subject areas. To find these in the Toronto Public Library catalogue, search for "curriculum and lesson plans".

Additional Online Sources for Free Lesson Plans

There are many online sites with free high-quality lesson plans. Here are a few:

4edu.ca
"For over 20 years, CoEd has made it easier for busy and dedicated educators to access information about free curriculum-based educational resources and programs that assist in the preparation of lesson plans and enhance classroom learning."
Canada's History
Free award-winning lesson plans, classroom activities and resources for homeschoolers and teachers K-12 focused on Canadian History.
Econlowdown
Resources for teachers in economics and personal finance, with lesson plans for students from PreK to College.
Historica Canada
Over 300 learning tools for educators to to explore, learn, reflect on Canada's history.
Learner.org
Multimedia resources for K-12 classroom instruction and teacher professional development across a range of grade levels and subjects.

Education: K-12 Teaching Resources

Finding Lesson Plans

Finding Lesson Plans in Library Books and eBooks

Finding Lesson Plans in Library Databases

Lesson Plans Across Subjects: Resource Banks

Additional Online Sources for Free Lesson Plans

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us