Research Guides: Indigenous Languages: Wendat / Huron

Huron-Wendat Nation Web Sites

La Nation Huronne-Wendat
CDFM check for pubs
Wyandotte Nation
Wyandot of Anderdon Nation
Wendat Confederacy

Acknowledgements

This page introduces materials in the Wendat (Huron or Wyandot) language available in the University of Toronto Library system, as well as selected Internet sites. Guidance in the creation of this guide was received from John L. Steckley's Words of the Huron and the dedicated students of LIN458 Revitalizing Languages 2014 who maintain the Wendat Language Blog.

Web Sites

Dictionaries

A Huron-English/English-Huron dictionary
First Voices
The first French-Huron dictionary by Father Jean de Brébeuf and his Jesuit Brethren
WENDAT KWAWENNONTAHKWIH (Langue Wendat)
This website features a Wendat dictionary containing vocabulary and common phrases translated into both English and French. Each vocabulary word and phrase is accompanied by its definition, pronunciation, and examples to help you use it correctly. Images and audio clips have been added to many of these entries.

Texts

Huron-Wyandot traditional narratives in translations and native texts
De religione : telling the Seventeenth-century Jesuit story in Huron to the Iroquois
Huron manuscripts from Rev. Pierre Potier's collection.
Elementa huronicae / P. Potier, (Sandwich (1745) - Facsim. of MS. vol. V., St. Mary's College Collection, Montreal) -- Radices huronicae / P. Potier, (Sandwich (1751) - Facsim. of MS vol. VII, St. Mary's College Collection, Montreal) -- Extraits de L'Évangelé / P. Potier, (Sandwich (1747) - Facsim. of MS. vol. VI, St. Mary's College Collection, Montreal) -- Account book of the Huron mission at Detroit and Sandwich, 1740-1751 / Armand de la Richardie, P. Potier ; translation and notes by Richard R. Elliott.
Fifteenth Report of the Bureau of Archives of the Province of Ontario
1918-1919.

Gabriel Théodat Sagard: dictionaries and vocabulary

Recollet Friar. Biography.

More editions and locations of Sagard's works can be found through searching the University of Toronto Library catalogue, and the Internet Archive.

Le grand voyage dv pays des Hvrons, situé en l'Amerique vers la mer douce, és derniers confins de la Nouuelle France, dite Canada. Où il est amplement traité de tout ce qui est du pays ... Auec vn dictionaire de la langue huronne pour la commodité de
1632 edition. Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library. Includes dictionary.
Dictionaire [sic] de la langue huronne [fichier d'ordinateur] : necessaire à ceux qui n'ont l'intelligence - d'icelle & ont a traiter avec les sauvages du pays.
1632 edition online. Requires UTORID to access.
Dictionaire de la langue huronne, necessaire à ceux qui n'ont l'intelligence d'icelle, & ont à traiter auec les sauuages du pays. (1632)
1632 edition online. Open source from Internet Archive.
Histoire du Canada et voyages : que les frères mineurs recollects y ont faicts pour la conversion des infidèles.
1636 edition. Royal Ontario Museum. Canadiana Rare.
Le grand voyage du pays des Hurons, situé en l'Amérique vers la mer douce, ès derniers confins de la Nouvelle France dite Canada. Avec un dictionnaire de la langue huronne.
1865 edition. Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.
Histoire du Canada et voyages que les Frères mineurs recollects y ont faicts pour la conversion des infidèles depuis l'an 1615 : avec un dictionnaire de la langue huronne.
1866 edition. Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.
The long journey to the country of the Hurons.
English translation. Champlain Society. 1939.
Gabriel Sagard's dictionary of Huron.
English translation 2010.

Research Guides

Indigenous Languages

Huron-Wendat Nation Web Sites

Acknowledgements

Web Sites

Dictionaries

Texts

Gabriel Théodat Sagard: dictionaries and vocabulary

Research

Bibliographies / Portals

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us