Library books

Click on book  titles to find out which library the book is in, and its call number.  

Anyone can visit the libraries at the University of Toronto to use their books, although Robarts has some restrictions described below. If you want to borrow books, you will need a library card. Members of the general public can purchase cards as Research Readers. Most libraries also have photocopiers.

Robarts Library has the largest Aboriginal language collection. It is located at 130 St. George St., at the corner of Harbord St. Most Aboriginal language textbooks are on the 13th floor, under the PM call number. Only people with library cards can go into the book stacks at Robarts. If you do not have a card, you must ask for the book to be brought down from the stacks for you. Check the schedule to plan your visit.  

Web sites

Just click on the Web site to access it.

Licensed online materials 

The University of Toronto subscribes to some licensed ebooks which have restricted access. If you are University of Toronto faculty, staff or student, you can use your UTORID and password to access them. Others can only access the books if they are on one of the University of Toronto campuses. For example, you could use a LIRA computer at one of the libraries. You will need identification to use a LIRA station.

Use Inter-library loan to accesss books not in the University of Toronto Libraries collections, or if you are not in Toronto

If a title in this bibliography is not in the University of Toronto Library collection, University of Toronto students, faculty and staff can request the book through Inter-library loan, provided that it is available at another library.

If you are not affliated with the University of Toronto or able to visit one of our campuses, then you can consult your own local library to see if it has the titles that you want. If not, you should be able to order the titles through your library's Inter-library loan services. They will borrow the book from another library for you.

Further, the Bibliographies/Ordering tab provides information about how to purchase books.

First Nations House Resource Centre

The Resource Centre, located at First Nations House, University of Toronto, maintains a growing collection of printed materials, and audio visual resources that represent a wide range of Aboriginal topics. The coordinator is very knowledgeable in Aboriginal/Indigenous issues and is available to assist students with research and identifying sources. The centre also supports the Aboriginal Studies Program, making available texts, readings and other course materials used by instructors.

Toronto Public Library

The Toronto Public Library has many branches thoughout Toronto. The public library is free for anyone who lives, works, goes to school or owns land in the city of Toronto. You will need a library card to use it. With your library card, you can put a hold on books in the Toronto Public Library catalogue, and have them brought to your local branch to pick up. Please note that some Aboriginal language titles are in a reference collection and cannot be borrowed. answerline@torontopubliclibrary.ca

The largest Aboriginal language collection is at the Toronto Reference Library, 5th floor, Languages Centre, Languages of the Americas Collection. It is a reference collection which must be used in the library. (416) 393-7157

The Spadina Road branch also has a Native People's Resource collection which includes aboriginal language materials. It is at 10 Spadina Road, just up from the Native Centre. 416-393-7666

North York Central Library has a "Native Peoples Collection" on the third floor. 416-395-5535 (branch phone number)

Other Libraries

To get a general picture of what any library has on a given language, you can look up keywords such as "ojibwa language" or "oneida language."

York University Libraries 

Ryerson University Library

In order to read and write in syllabic fonts, you will need to download the font, and also the keyboard.