Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Toronto, Ontario

A guide to help students find information about Toronto, Ontario.

Major News Indexes

ProQuest Newspapers

Indexes, with full-text coverage, over 700 Canadian, U.S., and international news publications. Good representation from the English-speaking world.
Includes the following two Canadian subfiles:

  • Canadian Newsstand

    Offers full-text coverage of 21 major Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The National Post, and The Toronto Star.
  • CBCA Current Events

    Indexes over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, and television news programs.

Factiva

Factiva is a global and multilingual news and business information resource, providing full-text access to Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. Indexes the following major Canadian news publications:

  • Globe and Mail
  • Toronto Star
  • National Post

Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844

A uniquely valuable retrospective on Canada from its earliest periods to the end of the 20th century. Users can search a pdf rendering of the Globe and Mail by word/phrase or date, and within each option specify section, page content, and start date (searches are conducted in 5-year intervals). Within the word/phrase search page, it is also possible to perform a keyword, exact phrase, or Boolean search.

Example: Searching the exact phrase penal reform in the News section produces 6 hits from 1881 to 1884, one of which discusses, at length, a conference on prison reform.

For additional assistance in accessing newspapers and other news media, please consult the Newspapers Research Guide

 

Local Media

Magazines

Blogs

CBC - Metro Morning

Loading ...

Posted Toronto - Podcast

Loading ...

CBC - Toronto

Loading ...

The Toronto Star - Toronto & GTA

Loading ...

Globe & Mail - Toronto News

Loading ...

Canadian Newstand

Loading ...