Research Guides: Toronto, Ontario: Journals

Research Databases

Here`s a small sample of some the databases that could be of assistance with your studies:

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
The major database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines. GEOBASE covers world wide research literature. In addition to providing comprehensive coverage of the core scientific and technical periodicals, GEOBASE has a unique coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The major index for architecture. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is a comprehensive guide to the literature on architecture and design worldwide. The database also includes citation records for architects’ obituaries, an excellent source of biographical information. The Avery Index is created by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University and the Getty Research Institute.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences. FRANCIS is strong in religion, art history, philosophy, psychology, education, linguistics, archeology, information science, sociology and literature (with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature). The abstracts are in English or French and the descriptors appear in both languages. FRANCIS is published by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), a unit of the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS).

Scopus
video...close...
A major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Scopus also covers 200 million quality Web sources, including 12.7 million patents. Web sources searched include author homepages, university sites, and resources such as preprint servers and Open Archives Initiative (OAI) compliant resources. The Citation Tracker enables researchers to evaluate research using citation information.

This Read More information has been provided by Reference & Research Services, UTL.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
major multidisciplinary database. Web of Science consists of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be searched as a database in the usual manner. But you can also uniquely search the citation indexes for articles that cite a known author or work. This is made possible because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography). Web of Science is published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).

See more research databases for urban studies

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a free search engine that can be used to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Make the most of Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be customised to include links to online material for which the U of T Libraries have paid a subscription.

Go to the Scholar Preferences link on the Google Scholar search page.
In the Library Links section type in University of Toronto Libraries and click Find Library.
The library name will appear under this box. Select the boxes and click on the Save Preferences button.

You will be able to see links in your search results next to articles that are available to you via the Library.

GeoBASE Search Tips (Engineering Village Interface)

For additional Engineering Village search tips and features, check out their YouTube Channel

Using Research Databases

You can use a research database to search across many journals that publish articles on your topic area. Click on the "Databases" icon, then click on the "Databases by subject A-Z" link.

From the list of subject areas, choose one that is relevant to your subject or discipline, like Geography or Urban Studies, and you will find a list of databases and other resources for that subject.

If you have the title of a specific article, use L brarySearch to access the full-text (if available) and other related supporting resources.

Use Ulrich's to find out if a journal is peer reviewed; look the for the symbol. Take a look at the Peer-Reviewed Sources page for more information.

Online Journals

The e-Journals library webpage provides access to all of the Library's electronic journal titles.

You can also search for e-journals using LibrarySearch. You can search by subject area or, if you know the title of a journal, by title.

Getting Fulltext

When searching for articles in research databases, look for the button* to link to the article's FREE full-text online. If we don't have an electronic copy of the article, it will also let you look for print versions of the article, or request it via Interlibrary Loan.

If there is no"Get it!" link, or you experience problems, simply search for the journal in the U of T LibrarySearch or the Libraries' E-Journals Collection.

*Different databases have different full-text buttons so you might want to also look for buttons labelled full-text, PDF or SFX .

Toronto, Ontario

Research Databases

Google Scholar Search

Make the most of Google Scholar

GeoBASE Search Tips (Engineering Village Interface)

Using Research Databases

Online Journals

Getting Fulltext

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us