Research Guides: Researching your Business Model Canvas: Library Databases

Library Databases Mapped to the Business Model Canvas

The graphic below maps library databases to various sections of the Business Model Canvas. This mapping is based on their 'fit', or the likelihood that these databases may help answer some of the questions associated with each canvas section.

This mapping is not perfect and we can't guarantee that the databases listed below will be relevant for all ventures. Also, some databases could arguably be used to develop all sections.

All the databases are licensed library databases that require a valid UTORid for access on- or off-campus.

This canvas was adapted from one created by Strategyzer.com.

Mapped Database Links

The databases mapped above are listed below in alphabetical order.

CBCA Business
Also known as Canadian Business & Current Affairs. Contains abstracts and/or full-text of articles over 500 Canadian business periodicals, including trade or industry journals.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) This link opens in a new window
While EMIS's focus is on company, industry and market information for emerging and developing countries, it includes market research reports from vendors such as BMI, MarketLine and BuddeCom. TechNavio reports are useful for their research reports on emerging technology but this content is no longer being updated, as of November 2017.

eMarketer PRO
eMarketer PRO offers data and insights on all aspects of digital marketing, mobile, social media, online advertising, e-commerce, video, and B2B. Also includes demographics of online consumers and marketing and advertising performance benchmarks. Coverage includes Canada and other geographies.
** eMarketer PRO should be accessed through the library catalogue; bookmarked links may not be stable and may 'unauthenticate' users **

Factiva This link opens in a new window
A global news and business information service. Factiva contains a premier collection of resources from news media, web media, social media, and multimedia. News media resources include newspapers, trade press, magazines, newswires, and press releases. Use the Subject and Factiva Expert Search filters in lieu of or to supplement a keyword search. Modify the default 3-month search period as needed.
There are a limited number of simultaneous users allowed for the library's license of Factiva. If you encounter an error message or are denied access, please try again later. If errors persist, please contact your liaison librarian. Please log-out of the database when finished to release the seat for other users.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan covers international markets and technology in 15 major sectors ranging from chemicals & materials to energy and power systems to measurement & instrumentation.
The library's license for Frost & Sullivan provides read-only access to content (content may be cut and pasted, so long as plagiarism and citation guidelines are followed). Faculty may request a key from their liaison librarian to download presentations, reports and briefings; students can request PDF versions of reports and briefings directly from the vendor.
IBISWorld Global Industry Research This link opens in a new window
Find Canadian, American and global industry reports including market characteristics, operating conditions, costs, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and supply chain.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Use Key Business Ratios to compare a company;s performance against others in a given industry. Ratios and norms available for up to 2016 but not for all asset range categories. Searchable by NAICS.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find company information or generate lists of companies using the Company Dossier option. LexisNexis Academic also covers articles from newspaper, journal, and industry trade publications and is a good supplement to Factiva.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth research reports on a broad range of industries. Recommended report publishers include Kalorama (pharma, biotech, medical devices and health technology), Freedonia (manufacturing and technology), Packaged Facts (consumer packaged goods and US consumers) and Simba (education and publishing).
Note: MarketResearch.com Academic does NOT have all the content available in the commercial Marketresearch.com website.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Also known as Global Market Information Database or Euromonitor. Contains statistics, insights and research on consumer-facing industries, ranging from beverage & alcohol to luxury goods to consumer health & wellness. Consumer demographics include lifestyle, income, population, and technology and media usage. Includes market and brand share data for many products.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics allows user to easily map or generate reports, using Canadian and US demographic and business data. Includes Canadian and US census data, proprietary Environics consumer psychographic data Canada, and Dun & Bradstreet business listing data (US and Canada).
Access via a guest account is possible but repeat users are encouraged to create their own account.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Research Guides

Researching your Business Model Canvas

Library Databases for your Business Model Canvas

Library Databases Mapped to the Business Model Canvas

Mapped Database Links

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us