Research Guides: Researching your Business Model Canvas: Sample Free Resources

Free Resources Mapped to the Business Model Canvas

The websites on the canvas below can be used to answer the questions associated with each canvas section.

These do not represent a comprehensive list of what is available on the Web; the sites listed have been selected as examples of authoritative, quality sources of data and insights.

We've adapted this canvas created by Strategyzer.com

Jump to free sources for the following segments:

Customer Segments

MaRS Startup Toolkit
The MaRS Toolkit contains articles, templates, reports, workbooks, reference guides and videos covering a range of topics, including accounting, funding, governance, intellectual property, leadership, legal issues, marketing, product management, selling, social innovation, strategy and talent.
Statistics Canada: CANSIM
Updated daily, CANSIM is Statistics Canada's database of key demographic and lifestyle data, including household spending, and statistics on key industries.
US Census Bureau: Business and Economy
Offers access to US demographic and other business data from multiple surveys and censuses. The Small Business section is a good starting point. Use to research competitors and/or business customers.
US Bureau of Labour Statistics: Occupational Employment Statistics
Use this source If you need wage estimates population counts by occupation or job category at the US national, state and city levels. Also includes counts by industry.

Customer Relationships and Channels

comScore: Insights
A regularly updated collection of reports, briefings and webinars released by comScore, a leading digital audience measurement and research firm. Most reports are behind a paywall, but previews can be downloaded for free. Includes insights and statistics on mobile, social, advertising, cross-platform, TV/video, and digital media. Includes some Canadian coverage.
Nielsen: Insights
HIghlights, summaries and free downloads of consumer research sponsored by Nielsen, a leading market research firm. Topics covered include media & entertainment, shopping (online and off-), lifestyle, food & beverage, and customer segments. Coverage is global and national.
HubSpot: Marketing Statistics
"The Ultimate List of Marketing Statistics for 2020" covers digital marketing stats from content to SEO and video. Updated annually.
Pew Research Center: Internet, Science & Tech
An authoritative source for survey data on Americans' online behaviour, attitudes and technology adoption.
Think with Google
Research and insights developed Google and aimed at marketers. Topics include consumer trends, video, mobile retail, sports & entertainment, and specific verticals. Includes 'big picture' analysis as well as campaign-level case studies and playbooks.

Cost Structure and Revenue Streams

BDC Entrepreneur's Toolkit
Financial tools, business assessments, templates, eBooks. Useful, detailed glossary with guidance for understanding fixed vs variable costs, revenue streams, financial statements and more
BizStats
Financial ratios and statistics for benchmarking for sole proprietorships as well as corporations.
Government of Canada: Financial Performance Data
A free benchmarking service for Canadian small and medium-sized businesses. Thirty performance benchmarks or industry norms are provided for 1000+ industries and can be filtered by geography and company size (based on revenue). Currently, 2013 data is the most recent available.
MaRS Startup Toolkit
The MaRS Toolkit contains articles, templates, reports, workbooks, reference guides and videos covering a range of topics, including accounting, funding, governance, intellectual property, leadership, legal issues, marketing, product management, selling, social innovation, strategy and talent.
Small Business Administration (SBA) - Calculate your startup costs
Calculate the startup costs for your small business so you can request funding, attract investors, and estimate when you’ll turn a profit.

Key Partners

Alibaba
A global directory of products and suppliers. Searchable by keyword or browsable by category.
Canadian Trade Index
A searchable and browsable directory of Canadian industrial and manufacturing products & services. Could be used to source suppliers or customers.
Canadian Trade Commissioner (DFATD) - Canadian Network
List of organizations that have interests in the success of Canadian firms with innovations to commercialize internationally. Includes science-based depts and agencies (SBDAs), granting councils, strategic programs, academic and industry associations (life sciences, environment and information and communication technologies).
Government of Canada - Directories of Canadian Companies
Find businesses within Canada by name, business number or registry ID (beta); search federal corporations, Canadian importers, and companies offering products and services in arctic business sectors.
ThomasNet.com
Free online marketplace dedicated to supplier discovery. Search 700,000 North American suppliers by company name, brand name or product category. Also features commercial and industrial sector news.
>>Recommended for: Key Partners

Key Activities and Key Resources

Accenture - Strategy and consulting
Select the Industries tab to access free analysis and reports on 19 sectors from Aerospace & Defense to Retail.
McKinsey - Insights
Select the Industries tab to access free reporting and analysis on 21 industries from advanced electronics to travel.
TechCrunch
A major source of news and commentary on startups and technology. Searchable by keyword; results can be filtered by category. Offers a number of free newsletters.
PennWell
A leading publisher of B2B or industry periodicals, now owned by Endeavor Business Media. Verticals covered include renewable energy, public safety, oil and gas, and aerospace. Use this website to identify peridical titles of interest - in addition to articles, many periodicals will offer industry directories (aka 'buyer's guides'), annual surveys, white papers, and free newsletters.
WebWire: Trade Publications by Industry
A robust list of trade and industry publications, almost all of which have an online presence. US-centric. Industry and trade publications may publish business directories and/or sponsor research or surveys which are open to non-subscribers or non-members.

Value Propositions

CrunchBase
A database of startups, founders, startup employees and investors. Affiliated with TechCrunch, Crunchbase profiles are sourced from news, investors, founders, startup team members, other data partners, and through active tracking of Twitter and RSS. Some functionality is associated with a paid premium account.
Owler.com
A free "competitive intelligence" database, with good coverage of startups. Data includes competitors, funding, revenue history, news and more. Data is sourced using public information and crowdsourcing. Users can create a list or portfolio of companies to follow. Free registration required for access.
MaRS Startup Toolkit
The MaRS Toolkit contains articles, templates, reports, workbooks, reference guides and videos covering a range of topics, including accounting, funding, governance, intellectual property, leadership, legal issues, marketing, product management, selling, social innovation, strategy and talent.
TechCrunch
A major source of news and commentary on startups and technology. Searchable by keyword; results can be filtered by category. Offers a number of free newsletters.

Research Guides

Researching your Business Model Canvas

Free Resources for your Business Model Canvas

More Data and Statistics for Startups

Free Resources Mapped to the Business Model Canvas

Customer Segments

Customer Relationships and Channels

Cost Structure and Revenue Streams

Key Partners

Key Activities and Key Resources

Value Propositions

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us