Research guides: BIOD13 Herbology: Get Help

FAQ

How to cite external figures/ diagrams?

Cite an figure or diagram from a scholarly article like you would cite other information you include in your research paper.

Include a caption for the table, figure, diagram and add an in-text citation to the original source, as well as cite it in your reference list at the end of your paper.

If it is adapted, then say, 'This Table/Figure is adapted from <in-text citation>.0514/

Source the table/figure in the same way you source information
Include an in-text citations and full citation in your reference list.
You must refer to the Table/Figure in the actual writing of your research paper.

Please refer to Phytochemistry References guide for citation style pattern.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for using some databases over others? Some of the databases clearly specialize in certain disciplines more than others, but for example, what reasons would someone use prefer to use Scopus as opposed to Web of Science?

Good question. You are right, some databases specialize in a discipline, so read the description of the database to determine which ones are relevant. Also, in some ways, there isn't one better database to search than the other. Actually, your search strategy should be to search in several databases, or more than 2. So for example, search Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar to see what you can find. Each database subscribes to specific journals. So you are searching a different set of journals in Scopus then you are in Web of Science. Hence search in more than a couple of databases at minimum. Note there is some overlap but it's interesting to see what else you may find in a different database. Happy Searching!