Research Guides: BIOD13 Herbology: Articles

ACTIVITY: Highlight Keywords

The above word cloud identifies the herbs and plants you are investigating.

The above word cloud are keywords you identified that describes your research topic. Use these keywords to find articles.

Other Considerations

find primary articles and not just review articles
to help you determine if the article is relevant:
- consider if the article has the name of your plant species in the title of the article
- also what is the name of the journal - is it related to your research questions and discipline?

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of journals, books, conference papers, and technical reports, in the fields of life sciences and biology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
For health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals and conferences. Includes more international journals than Medline. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.

Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Complete list of databases for East Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
University of Toronto research guides to resources in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tibetan, East Asian, and Asian Canadian Studies

Available online and in print at Gerstein