Reference Resources

Reference books and encyclopedias are a way to familiarize yourself with the scholarly research, debate and discussion on various topics and figures. Here are some reference resources that may be of use for this course.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought "...outlines the thought of leading political theorists, past and present, and considers the way in which thinking about politics has evolved historically. " [preface]

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Encyclopedia of Political Theory (2010) ed. Matt Bevir. "... examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. [Also available in print: EJ PRATT Reference, JA61 .E53 2010]

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy Edited by Ted Honderich. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005

An assembly of 249 distinguished philosophers have contributed to The Oxford Companion to Philosophy to create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The second edition has been considerably revised and updated, and includes 300 new articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate responsibility, the family, globalization, and terrorism.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (2 ed.) This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Clear and authoritative definitions and make it an essential resource for students and teachers and an ideal introduction for anyone with an interest in philosophy.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature: A database collection of current, peer-reviewed trustworthy research from international communities of scholars across all fields of study. Read in 30 minutes or less across 25 encyclopedias and includes the Encyclopedia of Social Work and the Oxford Classical Dictionary.

Oxford Reference Online: look up the general topic: ie. "Umbrellas"

Oxford Reference is a compilation of hundreds of individual reference tools, published by Oxford University Press, combined into one searchable database. We often have the individual print equivalents if you decide to read in depth from one tool. But, to start with, search Oxford Reference online to find some general information.

Results include entries on umbrellas from A Dictionary of English Folklore and The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance. These could provide contexts for studying the topic. They provide histories and meanings of the term. Also look at the "Bibliographies" or "Further Readings" of the entries from these sources.

The Oxford handbook of French politics (2017) eds. Elgie, Robert, Grossman, Emiliano, Mazur, Amy. This title provides a comprehensive and comparative overview of the French political system through the lens of political science. The handbook is organized into three parts: the first part identifies foundational concepts for the French case, including chapters on republicanism and social welfare; the second part focuses on thematic large-scale processes, such identity, governance, and globalization; while the third part examines a wide range of issues relating to substantive politics and policy, among which are chapters on political representation, political culture, social movements, economic policy, gender policy, and defense and security policy.

Biographies, Obituaries and Works

These scholarly texts will provide you with context for who Hannah Arendt, Roland Barthes, Jean Baudrillard and David Cronenberg's work and lives. Oxford Academic is a resource you can use to familiarize yourself with recent scholarly debates about philosophers, writers and historical figures.

Clarke, David B. Jean Baudrillard : Fatal Theories. Routledge, 2009.
ISBN: 9780203927052
Publication Date: 2008-09-25
Available Online via hyperlink above.

Jean Baudrillard was one of the most influential, radical, and visionary thinkers of our age. His ideas have had a profound bearing on countless fields, from art and politics to science and technology. Once hailed as the high priest of postmodernity, Baudrillard's sophisticated theoretical analyses far surpass such simplistic caricatures. Bringing together Baudrillard's most accomplished and perceptive commentators, this book assesses his legacy for the twenty-first century. It includes two outstanding essays by Baudrillard: a remarkable, previously unpublished work entitled 'The vanishing point of communication,' and one of Baudrillard's final texts, 'On disappearance', a veritable tour de force that serves as a culmination of his theoretical trajectory and a provocation to a new generation of thinkers. Employing Baudrillard's key concepts, such as simulation, disappearance, and symbolic exchange, and deploying his most radical strategies, such as escalation, seduction, and fatality, the volume's contributors offer a series of thought-provoking analyses of everything from art to politics, and from laughter to terror. It will be essential reading for anyone concerned with the fate of the world in the new millennium.
Coste, Claude. 'Roland Barthes', French Studies, Volume 69, Issue 3, July 2015, Pages 363–374.
This article published in "French Studies Quarterly Review" contains Barthes' obituary, his complete works, his courses and seminars, and uses of his works.
Schwartz, David. David Cronenberg : Interviews. Edited by David Schwartz, University Press of Mississippi, 2021.
ISBN: 1496832280
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Available Online via hyperlink above.

From his early horror movies, including Scanners, Videodrome, Rabid, and The Fly--with their exploding heads, mutating sex organs, rampaging parasites, and scientists turning into insects--to his inventive adaptations of books by William Burroughs (Naked Lunch), Don DeLillo (Cosmopolis), and Bruce Wagner (Maps to the Stars), Canadian director David Cronenberg (b. 1943) has consistently dramatized the struggle between the aspirations of the mind and the messy realities of the flesh. "I think of human beings as a strange mixture of the physical and the non-physical, and both of these things have their say at every moment we're alive," says Cronenberg. "My films are some kind of strange metaphysical passion play." Moving deftly between genre and arthouse filmmaking and between original screenplays and literary adaptations, Cronenberg's work is thematically consistent and marked by a rigorous intelligence, a keen sense of humor, and a fearless engagement with the nature of human existence. He has been exploring the most primal themes since the beginning of his career and continues to probe them with growing maturity and depth. Cronenberg's work has drawn the interest of some of the most intelligent contemporary film critics, and the fifteen interviews in this volume feature remarkably in-depth and insightful conversations with such acclaimed writers as Amy Taubin, Gary Indiana, David Breskin, Dennis Lim, Richard Porton, Gavin Smith, and more. The pieces herein reveal Cronenberg to be one of the most articulate and deeply philosophical directors now working, and they comprise an essential companion to an endlessly provocative and thoughtful body of work.
Nielsen, Richard P., 'Hannah Arendt (1906–1975)', in Jenny Helin and others (eds), The Oxford Handbook of Process Philosophy and Organization Studies (2014; online edn, Oxford Academic, 2 Oct. 2014)
Abstract: Hannah Arendt was profoundly influenced by Martin Heidegger both intellectually and personally. Arendt’s process philosophy of organizational ethics and politics remains relevant today. In 1963, she published a book entitled Eichmann in Jerusalem: A Report on the Banality of Evil. She is known for her analysis of authoritarian organizations and the emergent archetype of a middle-level manager based on Adolf Eichmann. This chapter provides a biographical sketch of Arendt and Eichmann and discusses the emergent archetype organizational and Eichmann dimensions considered by Arendt, including administrative harm, organizational requirements to obey orders, and ‘banality’ of organizational evil or at least unethical organizational behaviour. It also looks at the views of Heidegger, Eichmann, and Arendt regarding organizational becoming.