Research Guides: MGT493H5: Small Business Management: Articles & News

News and Periodical Article Databases

Use these databases to find articles from newspapers and magazines, some of which may target your specific industry or sector.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers 21,000+ newspapers, trade and industry journals, newswires and websites from around the world. Includes online full-text of Financial Times and The Wall Street Journal. Also offers basic company and industry reports; click on the Companies/Markets tab at the top to access these.

Please log-out when finishing using the database as there are only a limited of simultaneous users allowed for this database across all three campuses.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from 2000+ academic and trade & industry journals.

ABI/Inform Collection
A suite of three databases available on the ProQuest platform. ABI/Inform Dateline offers (US) local and regional business news while ABI/Inform Trade & Industry covers industry & trade journals, selected market research and industry-focused news. ABI/Inform Global will include more scholarly content, including journal articles and working papers.

Use the pull-down menu besides the first search box to use the subject filters or use the boxes below to search by company name, product name, etc.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
A database available on the ProQuest platform. Click the 'Change databases' option at the top to select this database to search.

Offers good coverage of Canadian business news and trade & industry journals. If you're targeting Canadian market trends or data, this is a useful supplement to Factiva or other large, global news databases.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Offers good coverage of US and international news. Use the 'Search the News' box below the generic search box to restrict your search to just newspapers, blogs, newswires, and trade & industry journals.