Research Guides: MGD421H5: Technology Entrepreneurship: Company Information

Company Information

These library databases can be used to find information about companies - competitors, potential partners or investors. The information found in these databases ranges from in-depth profiles or simple directory listings with contact information.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Use the pull-down menu besides the first search box to select 'Company/Organization' as your search field. This will return articles that have been tagged or indexed as being 'about' the company you are targeting.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Click on the 'Get Company Info' tab at the bottom of the database's welcome screen and then the 'Company Dossier' link to access profiles on private and public companies. The Company Dossier also supports company screening.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Click on the 'Companies/Markets' tab on the top horizontal navigation bar to access snapshot profile data and recent news about a company.

Use the 'Search' tab to find information about a company using keywords or filters. Click on the arrow beside 'All Companies' to search for and select a specific company or companies. Use other filters such as Subject, Industries or Regions to further refine your search.

Investext
NOTE: Investext only works with the Internet Explorer (IE) browser; it does NOT support Chrome, Firefox or Safari. The Li Koon Chun Finance Learning Centre offers access to this database for students who don't have this browser.

A database on the Thomson ONE platform. Offers investment research reports on publicly-traded companies and industries from over 1400 sources. Private company coverage is limited and tends to surface in 'Initiating coverage' reports, which usually offer most in-depth company profile information when a company IPOs. Globaldata is a key company information contributor here.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics contains business directory data from Dun & Bradstreet for both the US and Canada. Business reports can be generated with basic directory data.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Offers international coverage of companies, with a focus on publicly-traded companies. Use the 'Advanced Search' option to build a list of companies that meet certain criteria.