HIS272H5: US History, 1877 to the Present

PERIOD COVERED: 1493-1945

SOURCE ARCHIVES: The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York
Module I: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform, 1493-1859
Module II: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era, 1860-1945

This collection includes newsreels, documentaries, oral histories, scholarly essays, photographs, newspapers, regimental rosters, conference proceedings, political pamphlets, letters, diaries, and other archival documents.
It covers the Plymouth Rock landing, westward expansion, the Civil War, women’s suffrage, the Great Depression, World War II, the Civil Rights Movement, the Space Race, the Gay Rights Movement, the Iraq War, and more.

✶ Tribes and Nations offers Exonyms, Endonyms, and Alternative Names (e.g., Blackfeet)
The collection includes photos, as well as other type of sources: e.g.,
— Government Indian schools
— Need of law on the Indian reservations
— Akwesasne Notes

The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files.
Rare books are included, representing King Philip, Red Jacket, Sequoyah, Thayendanegea, Tomochichi, Standing Bear, Red Cloud, John Ross, and Geronimo. Additional materials extend coverage to the present day. Twenty prominent Indians have been selected for special emphasis, with multiple biographies presented, including Pocahontas, Tecumseh, Sitting Bull, Chief Joseph, and Plenty Coups.

PERIOD COVERED: 1650 - 1920
Experience settlements across the various frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Explore documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people in these regions alongside the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples. The collection includes
— "Blackfeet Triumph in Battle with Cree Tribe", Great Falls Tribune. -- February 22, 1942.
— "Mountain Cheifs" by George Casey, Fallon County Times. -- 1942. -- Re Blackfoot leader

PERIOD COVERED: 1800-1980
Module I, The Century of Immigration: Documenting the period from 1800 to 1924, this module focuses on the British colonisation of Canada during the early nineteenth century, Chinese and Japanese immigration to the United States and the movement of indentured Asian labourers to plantations in the West Indies.
Module II, The Modern Era: Beginning with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s, this module focuses on the growth of colonisation companies, activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons after the Second World War.

The collection includes:
— The evolution of early Jewish Settlements in areas such as New York, Rhode Island and Philadelphia
— The immigration process and structures of support for those arriving from the Old World – the differing experiences of immigrants and, from the late 19th century, strategies adopted at Ellis Island and in Galveston
— The role of Jews in the American War of Independence and the Civil War
— The Jewish Diaspora – the influx of Jews from Western Europe, Eastern Europe and other places around the world and their dispersal across America

The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.
Examples of materials:
— Extracts from the Journal of Mrs. Ann Manigault, 1754–1781
— Julia Heller’s Boyfriend Book, the 1932 diary of a Pennsylvania teenager
— Letters of Phyllis Wheatley
— Letters of Ellen Louisa Tucker to Ralph Waldo Emerson
— Letters of Benjamin Franklin and Catharine Ray Greene

PERIOD COVERED: around 1801 - 1976
The period after the Civil War in America became known as the Gilded Age, coined by Mark Twain in his seminal novel The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today (1873), playing on the failure of the expected 'golden era' of Reconstruction. This resource aims to showcase the transformation of America into a modern, urban, industrial global power through business, legal and personal papers. This includes personal papers of John D. Rockefeller Sr (1839-1937), the Astor Family papers, personal correspondence and holograph manuscripts of The Age of Innocence and The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton (1862-1937), and so forth.

PERIOD COVERED: 1865–1902
The collection includes songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera. This primary content is enhanced by video interviews with scholars and numerous topical critical documentary essays. Covering such themes as race, labor, immigration, commerce, western expansion, and women’s suffrage, these essays illuminate the rapidly changing cultural landscape of America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt.

Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.

PERIOD COVERED: 1863-1986
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
— This collection provides primary sources on the Pullman Company, George C. Pullman, the original town of Pullman.

PERIOD COVERED: 1841 - 1960
contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of African Americans.
The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., and so forth.

Works include:
– The Reminiscences of General Basil W. Duke (1911) contains not only military affairs in the West, but also politics, social life in the South, prison life, and the fleeing of the government from Richmond at war's end
– Jefferson Davis, Ex-President of the Confederate States of America: A Memoir by His Wife (1890), by Varina Howell Davis
– The diary of Gideon Welles, who was Secretary of the Navy under Lincoln and Johnson
– Soldier Boy's Letters to His Father and Mother 1861-5, by Chauncey H. Cooke

PERIOD COVERED: 1939-1949
The collection includes: for example,
— Memories of Wanda Damberg, a Dutch civilian woman imprisoned in Manila by the Japanese, who smuggled medicine into the camp with the aid of a Jesuit priest.
— Account by Dorothy Lucas, member of the Women’s Air Force Service Pilots (WASPs) who transported planes and flew as a target tow pilot.

The collection includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The topics are about Freedom rides, sit-ins, the draft, the Equal Rights Amendment, Earth Day, the Free Speech Movement, the Stonewall riots, Woodstock, the Summer of Love, the Space Race, and so forth. Historical events include Vietnam Conflict (1955-1975) and U.S. Civil Rights Movement II (1966-).

— Bills & Laws 1789–Present
— Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817–2018
— Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789–Present
— CRS Reports 1916–2018
— Hearings 1824–Present
— House & Senate Documents 1817–2016
— House & Senate Reports 1817–2016
— Serial Set 1789–2016
— Serial Set Maps 1789–Present
— Executive Branch Documents 1933–1945
— Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789–Present
See also ProQuest Legislative Insight: Banking and Finance, Civil Rights, Education, Immigration, and Water

Formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher).
This provides record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

Coverage: from 1690 to the recent past.
Contains 23 databases, such as African American Newspapers, Series 1, African American Newspapers, Series 2, Caribbean Newspapers, and Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971.
☆ See the title list.

PERIOD COVERED: 1828–2016
A collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions. The collection includes:
— Blackfeet Tribal News
— Navajo Times

Part of the American History collection. The collection captures, for example, World War II, 1939-1945, U.S. Civil War, 1861-1865, World War I, 1914-1918, Great Depression, 1929-1941, American Revolution, 1775-1783, Reconstruction, US, 1865-1877, and more.