It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A campus shooting. A gang assault. A school bus ambush. With each successive event, fingers are pointed at the usual suspects: violent films, bloody video games, explicit web sites. But to what extent can--or should--the media be implicated in youth crime? The book brings scientific and intellectual rigor to culturally and politically charged issues as it covers: Violence in the media. Media portrayals of crime and youth. Research on violent television programs, video games, and other media as causes of crime. Effects of pornography on behavior. Public policy, censorship, and First Amendment issues. There is a "CSI Effect" chapter.
Since its debut in September 2000, CSI's fusion of cinematic spectacle, forensic pathology and character drama has regularly drawn in tens of millions of viewers around the world. This original new study investigates CSI's cultural importance, both for the media industry and for the criminal justice system itself, exploring its formal and narrative style, and its impact on media culture. CSI provides a model for studying how genre, narrative, industry concerns, and the broad 'public life' of a television series contribute to our understanding of the nature and function of contemporary popular television
This book identifies, traces, and interrogates contemporary American culture's fascination with forensic science. It looks to the many different sites, genres, and media where the forensic has become a cultural commonplace. One of the central concerns of this book is the gendered nature of expert scientific knowledge, as embodied by the ubiquitous character of the female investigator. (Please see the chapter "The CSI Effect.")
The authors look at the how jurors in terrorism trials are likely to respond to gruesome evidence, including beheading videos. The 'CSI effect' is examined as a possible response to forensic evidence, and jurors with different learning preferences are compared. The book will be of great interest to scholars, students and practitioners of law, criminal justice, forensic science and psychology.
Miscarriages of justice are a regular occurrence in the criminal justice system, which is characterized by government agencies that are understaffed, underfunded, and undertrained across the board. The purpose of this textbook is to move beyond the law review, casebook, and true crime publications that comprise the majority of miscarriage literature. While informative, they are not designed for teaching students in a classroom setting. This text is written for use at the undergraduate level in journalism, sociology, criminology and criminal justice programs - to introduce college students to the miscarriage phenomenon in a structured fashion.
Klentz, Bonnel A., Georgia M. Winters & Jason E. Chapman. (2020). The CSI Effect and the impact of DNA evidence on mock jurors and jury deliberations. Psychology, Crime & Law 26(6), 552-570, DOI: 10.1080/1068316X.2019.1708353
Try this if the above link does not open: https://doi-org.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/10.1080/1068316X.2019.1708353
Wise, J. (2010). Providing the CSI Treatment: Criminal Justice Practitioners and the CSI Effect. Current Issues in Criminal Justice, 21(3), 383-399, DOI:10.1080/10345329.2010.12035856
To link to this article if the above is not working: https://doi.org/10.1080/10345329.2010.12035856
Holmgren, J. A., and Fordham, J. (2011). The CSI Effect and the Canadian and the Australian Jury. Journal of Forensic Sciences 56, S63-S71.
Patricia Wooden describes some of the challenges and misconceptions of police work. Within the workplace, she highlights generational differences. Regarding public perceptions, she discusses the CSI effect.
The Routledge Companion to Crime Fiction is a comprehensive introduction to crime fiction scholarship today. Specialists in the field offer innovative approaches to the classics of the genre as well as ground-breaking mappings of emerging themes and trends. Part III, Interfaces, investigates the complex ways in which crime fiction engages with the defining issues of its context - from policing and forensic science through war, migration and narcotics to digital media and the environment.
Students discuss whether the "CSI effect" has improved the quality of justice and the knowledge of jurors. Professor Kenneth Peak responds that the "CSI effect" has given jurors unrealistic expectations about forensic science and the criminal justice system.
Getting Background Knowledge: Define the Forensic Techniques
Biomechanics is the application of mechanical principles to living organisms. In forensic science, it is biomechanics that explains trauma to the body at a crime scene or the fracture of fibers and textiles, and helps interpret blood spatter.
Forensic Botany: A Practical Guide is an accessible introduction to the way in which botanical evidence is identified, collected and analysed in criminal cases. Collection of evidence differs from formal plant collection in that most professional plant collectors are gathering entire plants or significant portions of a plant for permanent storage and reference. Evidence frequently consists of fragments, sometimes exceedingly tiny.
Forensic Chemistry: Fundamentals and Applications is edited by one of the leading forensic scientists with each chapter written by international experts specializing in their respective fields such as illicit drugs, fibers, fire and explosive residues, soils, glass and paints, the chemistry of fingerprint recovery on porous surfaces, the chemistry of firearms analysis, as well as two chapters on the key tools of forensic science, microscopy and chemometrics.
Forensic botany is the application of plant science to the resolution of legal questions. A plant's anatomy and its ecological requirements are in some cases species specific and require taxonomic verification; correct interpretation of botanical evidence can give vital information about a crime scene or a suspect or victim.
Who can forget OJ's bloody gloves? Or the grisly autopsy pictures of slain President John F. Kennedy? The work of forensic scientists both fascinates and repels us, and this A-Z reference reveals everything you wanted to know about the field in over 300 entries.
Written by accomplished and respected specialists in approximately eleven distinct areas of the forensic sciences,the volume will examine central issues within each discipline,provide perspective on current debate and explore current and proposed research initiatives.
Concentrating on the natural science aspects of forensics, top international authors from renowned universities, institutes, and laboratories impart the latest information from the field. In doing so they provide the background needed to understand the state of the art in forensic science with a focus on biological, chemical, biochemical, and physical methods. The broad subject coverage includes spectroscopic analysis techniques in various wavelength regimes, gas chromatography, mass spectrometry, electrochemical detection approaches, and imaging techniques, as well as advanced biochemical, DNA-based identification methods. The result is a unique collection of hard-to-get data that is otherwise only found scattered throughout the literature.
Forensic Testimony: Science, Law and Expert Evidence--favored with an Honorable Mention in Law & Legal Studies at the Association of American Publishers' 2015 PROSE Awards--provides a clear and intuitive discussion of the legal presentation of expert testimony. The book delves into the effects, processes, and battles that occur in the presentation of opinion and scientific evidence by court-accepted forensic experts.
This set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography.