Skip to Main Content

Speech-language Pathology: A Guide for Graduate Students

A guide in support of the graduate program of Speech-language Pathology

Key Databases for SLP

OVID Medline
Key biomedical database. Uses MeSH terms. North American focus. OVID platform. Select option 2 and option 4 from list.
OVID Embase
Large biomedical database. European focus. Includes conference proceedings. Uses Emtree subject headings. OVID platform. Select Embase+Embase Classic from list.

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new window
Great database for CAM. OVID platform. Uses AMED thesauri terms.

CINAHL
Cumulative index for nursing and allied health. Great for finding qualitative studies. Includes trade publications. Indexes the most SLP journals.
OVID PsycINFO
Strengths in psychology and mental health. Sleeper hit for qualitative or conceptual research. OVID platform. Uses APA Thesaurus terms. Select 1806-present.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary citation index. Great for starting a search, finding highly cited articles, and author-level metrics.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. The Wiley platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

Evidence-based Databases

PubMed Clinical Queries
SpeechBITE
UpToDate
Very popular point of care tool for medical decision making. Available to students and residents only.

Sociology Databases

Sociolocial Abstracts

Education Database

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center database provides access to scholarly and trade journals in the field of education, and also has broad coverage of grey literature from a variety of sources, including reports, technical papers, dissertations and theses, and conference proceedings.

Anatomy Resource

For 3D views and more! Check out the speech-language pathology section.

Primal Pictures | University of Toronto Libraries
Look for the Speech-language pathology section

Google Scholar