A collection of six databases of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. The Cochrane Library consists of the following databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database; and the Cochrane Collaboration database.
In Aphasia and Related Cognitive-Communication Disorders, renowned author Albyn Davis gives graduate students and others pursuing a clinical career in adult language disorders, a comprehensive, up-to-date look at theory and practice in a balanced treatment of impairment-based and communication-based disorders. Written in a relaxed writing style, the book presents topics in an organized, logical progression that first provides an understanding of a disorder, next discusses assessment and diagnosis, and then treatment. Included are explanatory "walk-throughs" to make challenging concepts clear plus coverage of special topics including therapeutic software and other technologies, levels of evidence, neuroplasticity, new medical treatments, quality of life, and primary progressive aphasia.
Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders covers topics in aphasia, motor speech disorders, and dementia. Organized by symptom rather than syndrome, this text provides a foundation for understanding the disorders and learning how to apply basic theory to clinical practice in the development of rehabilitation objectives. Aphasia and Related Neurogenic Communication Disorders applies a clinical integration of the psychosocial with the neuropsychological approach in adult language rehabilitation. Written by international authorities in the field of aphasia and related communication disorders and based on the ICF framework, this unique text features diverse contribution covering global issues.
Focusing on the anatomic concepts that speech-language pathology students must master, Atlas of Neuroanatomy for Communication Science and Disorders is a user-friendly guide to the neural basis of human communication and brain-based disorders. With this book, students will acquire a full understanding of the basic anatomy and physiology of human communication, the neural mechanisms controlling speech, language, cognition and swallowing functions, the anatomic underpinnings of speech/language disorders of the nervous system and related communication impairments, and much more! Special features: An extraordinary, full-color visual library of labeled anatomic illustrations--from Thieme's world-renowned Atlas of Anatomy Series--that makes every concept crystal-clear Descriptive legends and text that bridge the gap between neuroanatomic principles and clinical applications A logical framework that begins with a clear, illustrated overview of the anatomy of the brain and nervous system, ensuring mastery of introductory concepts before moving on to more advanced material An in-depth look at how neuroanatomic structures are integrated into functional and dysfunctional communication systems, with coverage of aphasia, neuromotor speech disorders, impairments caused by traumatic brain and blast injuries, and more Includes online access via scratch-off code to Thieme's collection of anatomy images on WinkingSkull.com PLUS, featuring nearly 600 full-color illustrations and timed self-tests with immediate feedback to help identify areas for further study Edited by Dr. Leonard L. LaPointe, one of today's foremost teachers and practitioners in the field of speech-language pathology, this book offers a wealth of high-yield information for use in the classroom, exam preparation, and course review. It is essential for graduate and undergraduate students in speech-language pathology, audiology, and communication sciences, and will be a valued reference for any clinician working to understand the crucial connection between neuroanatomy and functional systems when treating patients with communication disorders.
Many children and adults experience impairment of their communication skills. These communication disorders impact adversely on all aspects of these individuals' lives. In thirty dedicated chapters, The Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders examines the full range of developmental and acquired communication disorders and provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the epidemiology, aetiology and clinical features of these disorders. The volume also examines how these disorders are assessed and treated by speech and language therapists and addresses recent theoretical developments in the field. The handbook goes beyond well-known communication disorders to include populations such as children with emotional disturbance, adults with non-Alzheimer dementias and people with personality disorders. Each chapter describes in accessible terms the most recent thinking and research in communication disorders. The volume is an ideal guide for academic researchers, graduate students and professionals in speech and language therapy.
Speaking directly to experienced and novice clinicians, educators and students in speech-language pathology/speech and language therapy via an informative essay-based approach, Children's Speech Sound Disorders provides concise, easy-to-understand explanations of key aspects of the classification, assessment, diagnosis and treatment of articulation disorders, phonological disorders and childhood apraxia of speech. It also includes a range of searching questions to international experts on their work in the child speech field. This new edition of Children's Speech Sound Disorders is meticulously updated and expanded. It includes new material on Apps, assessing and treating two-year-olds, children acquiring languages other than English and working with multilingual children, communities of practice in communication sciences and disorders, distinguishing delay from disorder, linguistic sciences, counselling and managing difficult behaviour, and the neural underpinnings of and new approaches to treating CAS. This bestselling guide includes: Case vignettes and real-world examples to place topics in context Expert essays by sixty distinguished contributors A companion website for instructors at www.wiley.com/go/bowen/speechlanguagetherapy and a range of supporting materials on the author's own site at speech-language-therapy.com Drawing on a range of theoretical, research and clinical perspectives and emphasising quality client care and evidence-based practice, Children's Speech Sound Disorders is a comprehensive collection of clinical nuggets, hands-on strategies, and inspiration.
Written for graduate students and practicing clinicians, this textbook, now in its second edition, provides comprehensive knowledge about understanding and conducting clinical research. Specifically, readers will learn to understand the strengths and weaknesses of different research methodologies, apply the results of research to clinical practice and decision making, and understand the importance of research ethics.. Importantly, this is the only book to take into account qualitative research and evidence-based practice, and to provide a detailed discussion of research ethics. For the second edition, the authors have updated and expanded the content. New and expanded topics include: . HIPAA and its impact on research Knowledge and skills needed for evidence-based research Application of revised Codes of Ethics to research: AAA (2011) and ASHA (2010) Comparison of ASHA (2005) and (2007) levels of evidence Chronology of research misconduct in the United States Organizational support for evidence-based practice Framing questions: PICO and PESICO Research utilization Information literacy Use of social networking as a research database Using single-subject design for ASD subjects In addition, the chapter on research grants includes an updated and expanded list of potential funding sources for grant-seeking purposes, both online and text-based, for federal, foundation, association, and corporate research grants.. With its updated content and many new features, Clinical Research Methods in speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Second Edition is an excellent choice for students and professionals seeking to increase their knowledge of of research in communication sciences and disorders.
Written by some of the top researchers and clinicians in the field, Communication Disorders in Multicultural Populations, 4th Edition offers an in-depth look at the major cultural groups in the U.S. and the issues concerning their communication development, common disorders, and treatment options. This fourth edition features a wealth of updates and new features - including the latest research and added coverage of communication issues in countries such as Australia, China, Canada, and Brazil - to give speech-language pathology students and speech-language pathologists a balanced and global perspective on the most topical multicultural communication issues of today. Comprehensive coverage focuses on a wide variety of cultural and age populations. Cutting-edge research and data offer up-to-date discussions based on the latest studies in multiculturalism as it relates to the SLP and AuD professions. Diverse panel of expert authors include some of the top researchers and clinicians in the field. Additional resources provide a focused listing of print and electronic sources at the end of each chapter to support more in-depth study of a particular subject. Chapter on international perspectives tackles issues in countries such as Australia, Canada, China, and Brazil to give you a more global understanding of communication disorders. The latest statistics from the 2010 U.S. Census report offers the most current data available. Increased content on older adults covers the multicultural issues, voice disorders, and neurogenic disorders particular to this important demographic. Case studies give you practice solving realistic clinical problems. Chapter overview and conclusion outline the key information in each chapter and serve as a checklist for content mastery.
This volume provides a comprehensive and in-depth handbook of qualitative research in the field of communication disorders. It introduces and illustrates the wide range of qualitative paradigms that have been used in recent years to investigate various aspects of communication disorders. The first part of the Handbook introduces in some detail the concept of qualitative research and its application to communication disorders, and describes the main qualitative research approaches. The contributions are forward-looking rather than merely giving an overview of their topic. The second part illustrates these approaches through a series of case studies of different communication disorders using qualitative methods of research. This Handbook is an essential resource for senior undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and practitioners, in communication disorders and related fields.
Milestones: Normal Speech and Language Development Across the Lifespan is a textbook for the introductory course in Language Development for students in Speech-Language Pathology, Communication Disorders, Special Education, Educational Psychology and Education. It adopts a coherent chronological approach, beginning with responsiveness to speech and language in the womb and working across the lifespan into maturity and beyond.. By using a chronological organization, the text helps students relate the material to the whole person at each milestone. It takes a constructive approach, starting with the simplest theoretical apparatus of the youngest infant, gradually increasing in complexity and comprehensiveness one milestone at a time. The organizational background becomes a series of narratives of interesting cases, keeping the theory and structure of language development grounded in real stories.. In the second edition, the authors have enhanced and updated the cutting-edge information on early language development, literacy acquisition, and some of the factors that can delay or even derail the normal progression. They have amplified innovations that students found useful in the first edition while updating the text with respect to current research and theory. The organization of the text has been streamlined, and some of the theory and research has been clarified and illustrated with additional or updated videographic illustrations.. The digital resources on the second edition DVD-ROM include: . *A complete Digital Summary of the whole book together with hyperlinked media and Internet resources referred to in the book *A well-illustrated PowerPoint summary of each chapter with one or more videographic clips for every class meeting *A Study Guide of Multiple Choice Questions containing 1,000 items (400 more than in the prior edition) linked in sequence, page-by-page and chapter-by-chapter, to the subject matter in the text *A series
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Speech Pathology & Audiology: Evidence-Based Education is a valuable resource for faculty and doctoral students teaching in communication sciences and disorders programs. The book introduces those in higher education to the concepts key to the scholarship of teaching and learning (SOTL), how to use SOTL for professional development to improve learning outcomes, and how to begin engaging in SOTL. This text highlights how instructors can make use of existing SOTL research to improve teaching through the use of specific, evidence-based education strategies described in depth using specific classroom application vignettes and is the perfect guide for those just beginning to learn about university teaching, as well as more seasoned professionals who want to expand and improve their skills.
This book examines the rehabilitation of language disorders in adults, presenting new research, as well as expert insights and perspectives, into this area. The first chapter presents a study on personalised cueing to enhance word finding. Cynthia K. Thompson and her colleagues contribute a chapter describing The Northwestern Naming Battery and its use in examining for verb and noun deficits in stroke-induced and primary progressive aphasia. Heather Harris-Wright and Gilson J. Capilouto examine a multi-level approach to understanding the maintenance of global coherence in aphasia. Kathryn M. Yorkston and colleagues provide discussion on the training of healthcare professionals, and what speech and language pathology and medical education can learn from one another. Yorkston also presents a systematic review asking whether principles of motor learning can enhance retention and transfer of speech skills. Connie A. Tompkins present a single-participant experiment examining generalization of a novel treatment for coarse coding deficit in right hemisphere damage. Finally, Chris Code returns to the topic of apportioning time for aphasia treatment. This book was originally published as a special issue of Aphasiology.
Written specifically with speech-language pathology assistants (SLPAs) in mind, Speech-Language Pathology Assistants: A Resource Manual, is a practical, easy-to-use manual that can be used by both SLPAs and SLPA educators. the text defines the roles of SLPAs and their supervisors-offering additional insight into the scope of practice of an SLPA per current American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) recommendations-and includes discussions, strategies, and examples of real-world issues, such as using augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) and working with individuals with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Also included within the chapters are "Things to Consider" sections, which address important factors and modifications that can enhance the effectiveness of treatment activities. For example, incorporating play, literacy, and speech sound remediation into treatment or modifying the clinical interface to enhance group therapy dynamics for children and adults. Within the text are chapters devoted to specific aspects of an SLPA's development. Chapters on clinical service enhance SLPA's understanding of goals, lesson plans, data collection, and note-writing. Likewise, chapters on professional practice offer insight into ethical problem-solving, presenting a professional image, developing mentoring relationships, working with culturally and linguistically diverse populations, and the use of self-reflection for self-improvement. Another notable feature of this text is the appendices, which include checklists, exercises, forms, and clinical tools and resources for SLPAs. As a key resource for enhancing skills and highlighting professional practice issues, for clinical practicum training or future employment, this is a text both SLPAs and SLPA educators will want to have on their bookshelves. Book jacket.
How can SLPs and other practitioners provide the best supports for adults with aphasia-and help them make a successful return to daily life? Clear answers are in this comprehensive text, the definitive guide to research-based strategies, supports, and technologies that improve outcomes for adults with chronic or acute aphasia. Introducing a unique approach to aphasia treatment, this book goes far beyond coverage of AAC devices, revealing innovative ways to educate families and communities about the needs of people with aphasia and encourage ongoing participation in everyday life. SLPs, OTs, PTs, and other service providers will get the foundational knowledge they need to leverage today's technology--both electronic and non-electronic options-to support communication ensure effective communication support across all healthcare settings and stages of recovery implement therapeutic assessments that involve patients as proactive partners in their rehabilitation weave communication supports into inpatient and outpatient therapy conduct aphasia treatment in small groups to enhance communication and reduce social isolation support participation in everyday situations, including self-care, leisure activities, and interpersonal interactions strengthen social relationships by training the communication partners of people with aphasia maintain ongoing, long-term communication support that adapts to changing needs An ideal textbook for graduate courses on aphasia--and an indispensable resource for practicing SLPs and other service providers--this book will help professionals strengthen the communication skills, social competence, and life satisfaction of people with aphasia. Includes brief, instructive case studies and quick-reference lists of communication strategies and supports Click here to learn more about Brookes' Augmentative and Alternative Communication Series!
Over the past decade, the evolution of distance learning technology and widespread availability of affordable, high- quality video conferencing solutions has allowed for the growth of telepractice in the field of speech-language pathology. Increasingly, practitioners are developing telepractice programs to provide family-centered early intervention services, speech and language therapy to children in public schools, and rehabilitation to adults recovering from aphasia as well as those with speech and swallowing disorders. Telepractice in Speech-Language Pathology provides practical information to speech-language pathologists to facilitate in implementing a successful telepractice program. It presents the technological requirements, current applications in speech-language pathology, policy and regulatory issues, future directions and trends, and international perspectives on telepractice. The book also addresses the use of distance learning technology to provide supervision and mentoring to pre- service and in-service professionals. Both practitioners currently in the field and graduate students in speech- language pathology will find this to be an invaluable text.
Written by experts from around the globe, this book presents explains technical issues and clinical applications. It includes collective experiences from rehabilitation service providers in different parts of the world practicing a wide range of telerehabilitation applications. This book lays the foundations for the globalization of telerehabilitation procedures, making it possible for rehabilitation service to be delivered anywhere in the world.
The Yale Swallow Protocol is an evidence-based protocol that is the only screening instrument that both identifies aspiration risk and, when passed, is able to recommend specific oral diets without the need for further instrumental dysphagia testing. Based upon research by Drs. Steven B. Leder and Debra M. Suiter, an easily administered, reliable and validated swallow screening protocol was developed and can be used by speech-language pathologists, nurses, otolaryngologists, oncologists, neurologists, intensivists and physicians assistants. In addition, the protocol can be used in a variety of environments, including acute care, rehabilitation and nursing homes. The Yale Swallow Protocol meets all of the criteria necessary for a successful screening test, including being simple to administer, cross-disciplinary, cost effective, acceptable to patients and able to identify the target attribute by giving a positive finding when aspiration risk is present and a negative finding when aspiration risk is absent. Additionally, early and accurate identification of aspiration risk can significantly reduce health-care costs associated with recognized prandial aspiration.
For 3D views and more! Check out the speech-language pathology section.