Skip to main content

Information Resources for UofT Alumni and other Practising Dentists

Canada

This is a list of some Canadian associations and resources associated with these associations.   In some cases, these resources are free for members, members can get access to parts of the resource for free or member discounts may apply. Please visit the association website for more details:

Canadian Dental Association

Canadian Academy of Periodontology (CAP)

Canadian Dental Hygienist Association

Ontario Dental Association

The Association of Prosthodontists of Canada

The Canadian Academy of Restorative Dentistry and Prosthodontics (CARDP)

The Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario (RCDSO)

  • PEAK (Practice Enhancement and Knowledge) articles in every issue of Dispatch. It is under "Quality Assurance" Section. Aim to provide Ontario dentists with key articles on a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics from dental literature around the world.

United States

(The following content is adapted with permission from Bibby Dental Library University of Rochester Medical Center)

Many dental organizations offer discounts and other privileges as part of the membership fee. Below is a list of some organizations and a list of some of the resources that have been included in memberships for free, available to members online or at a lower subscrition rate. Please visit the individual websites for more details:

Academy of Laser Dentistry

  • Journal of Laser Dentistry

Academy of Osseointegration

  •  International Journal of Oral & Maxillofacial Implants

Academy for Sports Dentistry

  • Dental Traumatology

American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry

  • Journal of Cosmetic Dentistry

American Academy of Craniofacial Pain

  • CRANIO: The Journal of Craniomandibular Practice

American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry

  • Education database (Online)
  • Access to articles posted by members
  • EP magazine

American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics

  • Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry

American Academy of Implant Dentistry

  • Journal of Oral Implantology

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology

  • Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology and Oral Radiology

American Academy of Oral Medicine

  • Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology and Oral Radiology

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry

  • Journal of Dentistry for Children
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Pediatric Dentistry Today
  • Pediatric dental and practice management articles

American Academy of Periodontology

  • Journal of Periodontology
  • Clinical Advances in Periodontics

American Association of Endodontists

  • Wiley Blackwell publications (Reduced prices)
  • Journal of Endodontics

American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons

American Association of Public Health Dentistry

  • Journal of Public Health Dentistry (Online) 

American Cleft Palate Craniofacial Association

  • Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Journal

American College of Prosthodontists

  • Journal of Prosthodontics

American Dental Association

  • DynaMed Plus (member login) is an evidence-based information database for use at the point of care.
  • Dental & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) (member login) offers an extensive collection of important full-text journals, as well as full-text monographs for online dental literature research.
  • Cochrane Library (member login), a full-text source of systematic reviews, clinical trials, and summaries of reviews.

American Dental Education Association

  • Journal of Dental Education (Online)
  • Bulletin of Dental Education Online (Online)
  • The JDE is online through HighWire Press. HighWire hosts more than 1,000 other journals and provides Inter-Journal Toll-Free Citation Linking. For example, you may find an article in the JDE and want to pursue the references. If the cited articles are from journals hosted on HighWire, you can read the full text even if you are not a subscriber, provided you follow citation links from the JDE.

American Prosthodontic Society

  • Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry

International Association for Dental Research

  • Journal of Dental Research (Online)
  • Advances in Dental Research

International Association of Dento-Maxillo-Facial Radiology

  • Journal of Dento-maxillofacial Radiology

Special Care Dentistry Association

  • Bi-monthly journal Special Care in Dentistry