Research Guides: Sociology Resources at the UTM Library: Sociology Resources

Sociology Course Resources

Below are course specific guides designed to support your research assignments.

SOC109 Introduction to Criminology, Law and Society (Fall 2024)

SOC221 Logic of Social Inquiry (Fall 2024, Dr. R. Kahil, LEC0101 & LEC0201)

SOC221 Logic of Social Inquiry (Winter 2024, Dr. A. Sheely)

SOC222 Measuring the Social World (Fall 2024, Dr. A. Sheely)

SOC224 Sociology of Education (Winter 2023)

SOC227 Sociology of Work and Occupations (Fall 2022)

SOC228 Introduction to Indigenous Studies (Fall 2024)

SOC303 White-collar and Corporate Crime (Fall 2024)

SOC306 Education and Social Control (Spring/Summer 2023)

SOC310 Youth Justice (Winter 2022)

SOC339 The Indian Act: Canadian Law, Sovereignty and Indigenous Womxn (Fall 2024)

SOC344 Sociological Approaches to Social Psychology (Winter 2023)

SOC345 Special Topics in Sociology: Families, the State and Social Policy (Fall 2024)

SOC349 Sociology of Food (Winter 2023)

SOC353 Borders and Human Rights (Fall 2022)

SOC410 Senior Seminar in Inequality (Fall 2022)

SOC416 Senior Seminar in the Sociology of Culture (Winter 2024)

SOC445 Sociology of Emotions (Fall 2022)

SOC446 Advanced Topics in Criminology, Law and Society (Fall 2022)

Centre for Student Engagement

Finding Articles: Key Databases

Sociological Abstracts
The major index to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. The database includes both theoretical and applied literature and includes a major thesaurus.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
A major database for criminology and criminal justice. Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes full text and bibliographic records from leading journals and other important sources within the field of criminal justice.
Social Science Citation Index
Citation index and subject database for social sciences. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) can be searched for articles that cite a known author or work, or searched by topic, title, author, publication name, DOI, publication year, and address.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
A major index for social science and interdisciplinary scholarly research. The main focus is on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.
PAIS Index
PAIS International offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It is an important index for its coverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and Internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide.
ERIC
The major index for education. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to a broad collection of resources on educational research and information, such as journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, reports, and other education-related materials.
Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

button not working in the database? Check out our video for instructions on how to search for an article using the citation.

Finding Newspaper & Magazine Articles: Key Databases

Canadian Newsstream
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Major newspapers include Toronto Star, Globe and Mail, and The National Post.
US Newsstream
Access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian, and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides local, regional and national news.
International Newsstream
English language publications only. International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
CBCA Complete
Provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, and regional concerns.
Factiva
A global news and business information service. Factiva contains a collection of resources from news media, web media, social media, and multimedia. News media resources include newspapers, trade press, magazines, newswires, and press releases. A limited number of users can access Factiva at one time. If you encounter an error message, or a message indicating the maximum number of users has been reached, try again later. Ensure you logout of Factiva when finished by closing your browser.

Other Sociology Resources

Canadian Research Index
Canadian Research Index includes federal, provincial, and municipal documents such as depository publications of research value; hard to find non-depository publications; scientific and technical report literature; policy, social, economic, and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs, and serials. Dates of coverage are 1900-2018. Titles found in the index must be searched in the library catalogue and/or web in order to locate them. This index is no longer updated.
Canadian Public Documents Collection on Scholars Portal
This collection focuses on Canadian public policy and contains publications from government and non-government organizations.
Policy Commons
An online discovery service for documents from world’s leading think tanks, policy experts, NGOs and more. Includes Canadian content.
Policy File Index
A resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Canadian Government Information
"A guide to resources available to the University of Toronto community for Canadian government information prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries." The guide covers federal, provincial, municipal, parliamentary, statistical, and historical resources.
Public Policy: Key Government Resources
"A guide to governmental and grey literature sources for public policy research prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries." Guide includes links to resources for Canada, US, UK & other countries, IGOs, NGOs. Also has resources for public opinion polls, treaties, and constitutions.
Statistics Canada Subject Guide
Statistics Canada's portal for data, tools and reports on Canadian society and community. Areas of interest include Indigenous Peoples; Crime, Justice and Community Safety; COVID-19; Society and Community.

Reference Sources

Oxford Reference
"Online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias." - Description from publisher.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
"Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects." - Description from publisher.
Oxford Handbooks Online
"Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives." - Description from publisher.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
"Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects." - Description from publisher.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field of Sociology.
The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous Sociology
"The authors in The Oxford Handbook of Indigenous Sociology, all leading and emerging Indigenous scholars, provide an authoritative, state-of-the-art survey of Indigenous sociological thinking. The contributions in the Handbook demonstrate that the Indigenous sociological voice is not a version of the existing subfields but a new sociological paradigm that uses a distinctively Indigenous methodological approach." - Description from publisher
Dictionary of Sociology
An introduction to sociology for beginners and a key reference work for more advanced students, instructors, and professionals working in sociology and related fields.
SAGE Books
Provides access to thousands of titles, including reference sources and handbooks, in the social sciences.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Videos
A collection of educational videos that supports diverse research and learning needs across key social science disciplines. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding.
Elgaronline (Edward Elgar Books)
Provides access to ebooks, journals, encyclopedia, handbooks, and other reference sources in the social sciences.

Streaming Video

The University of Toronto Libraries provides digital access to a variety streaming video collections. Below is just a selection. For a more comprehensive list, visit UTL Streaming Video page.

Docuseek
"Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. To log in, enter your UTORid when prompted, and then select 'University of Toronto' under the 'Select your institution' dropdown menu."
Criterion on Demand
"Video streaming service featuring thousands of films, including recent Hollywood blockbusters. Note, some films are labeled as ‘Restricted’ and can only be viewed while on campus and connected to the U of T network."
Alexander Street - Academic Video Online
Provides access to thousands of streaming videos, including 60 minutes, Meet the Press, The Docuseek2 Complete Collection, Social Theory (Second Edition), Security Issues Online, Revolution and Protest Online, Food Studies Online, Current Affairs in Video, and select content from PBS.

ASA Citation Style

UTM Department of Sociology ASA Style Guide, 7th ed.

For information and resources about other citations styles, visit the UTM Library's Reference Help Page.

Reference & Research Help

Reference Desk and UTML Chat

Service Hours: September 3-December 22, 2024

Monday to Thursday: 10am – 7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am-5:30pm

Service Hours: December 23, 2024

Monday: 10am-5pm

Service Hours: January 6-May 1, 2025

Monday to Thursday: 10am – 7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am-5:30pm

Ask Chat with a Librarian

Service Hours:

For full schedule, visit the Ask Chat with a Librarian webpage.

Service Closures:

Thanksgiving day: Monday October 14, 2024
Winter break: Tuesday December 24, 2024 to Sunday January 5, 2025
Family day: Monday February 17, 2025
Good Friday: Friday April 18, 2025

Book a Research Consultation

Need more assistance? You can Book a Consultation with a reference specialist.

Need subject-specific assistance with an assignment? UTM Library has liaison librarians for every program. Email your UTM Liaison Librarian to schedule a consultation.

Phone

Call us at 905-828-5237

Email

Email your question to refdesk.utm@utoronto.ca