Research Guides: SOC306 Education and Social Control: Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Use the databases below to find scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles for your assignments. Need help with Boolean operators? Check out our Searching with Boolean Operators guide.

Sociological Abstracts
This database covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to the present.
ERIC
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to a broad collection of resources on educational research and information, such as journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, reports, and other education-related materials from 1966 to the present.
Education Source
Education Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and a wide range of specialized topics in education. The database includes more than 2000 full text journals, 550 e-books, and conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1880 to the present.

Need help developing keywords? Watch the video below and download our Keyword Worksheet.

Keyword Worksheet

Need help using Sociological Abstracts? Check out our video below.

Need more help with Boolean operators? Check out our Searching with Boolean Operators guide.

Not sure if your article is peer-reviewed? Check out our video for instructions on how to search Ulrich's Periodical.

Sociology Style Guide

Below is the UTM Department of Sociology's ASA (American Sociological Association) Style Guide:

UTM Department of Sociology ASA Style Guide, 7th ed.

Reference & Research Help

Reference Desk and UTML Chat

Service Hours: September 3-December 22, 2024

Monday to Thursday: 10am – 7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am-5:30pm

Service Hours: December 23, 2024

Monday: 10am-5pm

Service Hours: January 6-May 1, 2025

Monday to Thursday: 10am – 7pm
Friday: 10am-5pm
Saturday and Sunday: 10am-5:30pm

Ask Chat with a Librarian

Service Hours:

For full schedule, visit the Ask Chat with a Librarian webpage.

Service Closures:

Thanksgiving day: Monday October 14, 2024
Winter break: Tuesday December 24, 2024 to Sunday January 5, 2025
Family day: Monday February 17, 2025
Good Friday: Friday April 18, 2025

Book a Research Consultation

Need more assistance? You can Book a Consultation with a reference specialist.

Need subject-specific assistance with an assignment? UTM Library has liaison librarians for every program. Email your UTM Liaison Librarian to schedule a consultation.

Phone

Call us at 905-828-5237

Email

Email your question to refdesk.utm@utoronto.ca