Skip to Main Content

Environmental Sciences @ UTSC

Before You Begin Your Research

Need help with planning? Use the Assignment Planner to create a suggested timeline for each step of your assignment
Do some background reading using things like Google, Wikipedia, and books from the library catalogue so you understand your topic
Check out the list of key resources for your subject area

Environmental Sciences course guides

EESC24 Advanced Readings in Environmental Science
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 282 views this year
PSCB90 Physical Sciences Research Experience
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 299 views this year
EES1100 Master of Environmental Science Resource Guide
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 883 views this year
EES1125 Contaminated Site Remediation
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 141 views this year
EES1128 Biophysical Interactions in Managed Environment
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 40 views this year
EES1200 and EES1201: Environmental Science Research Resources
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 242 views this year
EES2200 Advanced Seminar in Environmental Science (PhD)
by Mariana Jardim Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 129 views this year

LibrarySearch

Use LibrarySearch to find print and online books, journals, videos, and more!

Need help? Have a look at this collection of FAQs on how to use the new system, as well as this detailed LibrarySearch Tips research guide.

EBook platforms and collections

U of T Libraries eBook platforms and collections

Find articles: key databases

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that is multidisciplinary for the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE covers aspects of human impact on the environment. There is content on global warming, green construction techniques, pollution, sustainability, and more.
GEOBASE
GEOBASE allows you to search research regarding Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Other Environmental Databases

Environmental Science Writing Resources

Writing in the environmental sciences

The craft of scientific writing

Enjoy writing your science thesis or dissertation!

Research methodology and scientific writing

Scientific writing and publishing: A comprehensive manual for authors

Scientific writing = thinking in words

Writing and publishing scientific papers: A primer for the non-english speaker