Skip to main content

Research Guides

United Church of Canada

A guide for finding resources on the United Church of Canada

Moderators of the United Church of Canada

1925    George C. Pidgeon

             George Pidgeon: A Biography

             The Very Reverend George Campbell Pidgeon: A Foreman of Church Union (a biographical sketch ...

1926    James Endicott

1928    William T. Gunn

1930    Edmund H. Oliver

              The Life of Principal Oliver

              E. H. Oliver: A Study of Protestant Progressivism in Saskatchewan 1909-1935

1932    T. Albert Moore

1934    Richard Roberts

              Richard Roberts

              Richard Roberts: A Case Study in Liberal Protestantism in Canada During the Interwar Years

              Grace Unfailing: The Radical Mind and the Beloved Community of Richard Roberts 

1936    Peter Bryce

1938    John W. Woodside

1940    Aubrey S. Tuttle

1942    John R. P. Sclater

               A sermon preached on 22nd May, 1949 in a service of Thanksgiving to mark the completion by Very Rev. Dr. J.R.P.

               In Memoriam: J. R. P. Sclater

1944    Jesse H. Arnup

1946    Thomas W. Jones

1948    Willard E. Brewing

1950    Clarence M. Nicholson

               Clarence Mackinnon Nicholson: An Intimate Profile of His Achievement, Thought, and Spiritual Leadership

1952    Alexander A. Scott

1954    George Dorey

1956    James S. Thomson

1958    Angus J. MacQueen

1960    Hugh A. McLeod

1962    James R. Mutchmor

             Mutchmor: The Memoirs of James Ralph Mutchmor 

             James Ralph Mutchmor and the Board of Evangelism and Social Service 1936-1948 

1964    Ernest M. Howse

1966    Wilfred C. Lockhart

1968    Robert B. McClure

              China's New Highways

              Robert B. McClure, M.D. (Videocassette)

              McClure: The China Years of Dr. Bob McClure, a Biography

              McClure: Years of Challenge: Vol. 2 of a Biography

              Vintage McClure

1971    Arthur B. B. Moore

              Here Where We Live

1972    N. Bruce McLeod

1974    Wilbur K. Howard

1977    George M. Tuttle

              A Broadly Pastoral Ministry: A Self Assessment

1980    Lois M. Wilson

             Turning the World Upside Down: A Memoir 

            Feisty and Fearless: Glimpses Into the Life of Lois M. Wilson

            Streams of Faith

            I Want to be in That Number: Cool Saints I Have Known

            Telling Her Story: Theology Out of Women's Struggles

1982    W. Clarke MacDonald

1984    Robert F. Smith

1986    Anne M. Squire

1988    Sang Chul Lee

              The Wanderer = Nagune

             Han nagune ui sam: ku ui kkum kwa pijon= The Path of a Wanderer: His Dream and Vision

1990    Walter H. Farquharson

1992    Stanley J. McKay

              Journey from Fisher River: A Celebration of the Spirituality of a People Through the Life of Stan McKay

              Bridges in Understanding: Aboriginal Christian Men Tell Their Stories

1994    Marion S. Best

1997    William F. Phipps

2000    Marion Pardy

2003    Peter B. Short

2006    David W. Giuliano

2009    Mardi Tindal

2012    Gary Paterson

2015    Jordan Cantwell

2018    Richard Bott