Research Guides: Book and Media Studies: Getting Started

How to Research in Book and Media Studies

JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full text database that allows you to search for articles from scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also gives you access to a major collection of ebooks, primary sources, and images.
Communication Abstracts
Citation information and abstracts for communication and mass media related publications.

Cinema and Media Studies - Oxford Bibliographies
Communication - Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford English Dictionary
The accepted authority on the English language, the OED provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Updated every three months.

Cambridge Companions
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Use the Cambridge search or the library catalogue to determine if there is a book or a chapter on your research topic.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with select full-text access.
Communication Abstracts
Citation information and abstracts for communication and mass media related publications.
FIAF International Film Archive
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full text database that allows you to search for articles from scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also gives you access to a major collection of ebooks, primary sources, and images.
MLA International Bibliography
International research on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Includes scholarly journals, books, working papers, and conference papers.

Kelly Library, University of St. Michael's College - Special Collections
The Kelly Library Special Collections chiefly consist of archival, manuscript, and rare books collections. All items in Special Collections are non-circulating and can only be used in the Special Collections Reading Room.
Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
The Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library houses the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections including books, manuscripts and other materials.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab Citation Help
Unofficial (but good!) guidance on APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles from Excelsior University.

SMC Writing & Research Help Centre
Get help with your writing or help finding and citing sources. Available to any BMS student, SMC student, or students taking SMC courses.