Book and Media Studies

Alison Harvey takes a global view of gendered practices in and around the media. She provides an accessible overview of classical and contemporary issues in media culture by exploring the past, present, and future of feminist media studies, accounting for changes in the media landscape, from digital technologies and globalized media systems to emergent inequalities, discourses, and practices.

This volume offers clear explanations of key concepts, showing where they came from, what they are used for and why they provoke discussion or disagreement. For students and seasoned scholars alike, Communication, Cultural and Media Studies is an invaluable resource in an ever-changing landscape.

Donald Trump's use of Twitter, the "Angelina Effect," social media mourning, cyber-bullying: in today's media environment, evidence of media influence is all around us. As such, good media research is more important than ever, and crucially, is something all students can and should do. Author Andy Ruddock explains that the only way to learn or teach about media research is to do it. Carefully balancing theory and practice, he demystifies the process, showing you don't need huge amounts of time or money to do meaningful media analysis.

This book offers a comprehensive examination of media and gender studies, charting its histories, investigating ongoing controversies, and assessing future trends. Authors address a series of important questions that have consequences for current and future thinking in the field, including postfeminism, sexual violence, masculinity, media industries, queer identities, video games, digital policy, media activism, sexualization, docusoaps, teen drama, cosmetic surgery, media Islamophobia, sport, telenovelas, news audiences, pornography, and social and mobile media.

Issues of power related to gender, race, and class are integrated into a wide range of articles examining the economic and cultural implications of mass media as institutions, including the political economy of media production, textual analysis, and media consumption.

Drawing heavily on case studies, and including exercises and “media labs” in each chapter, this introduction to media studies is also accompanied by a website with supplementary material.

Definitions for more than 10,000 words and phrases, from common slang to technical terminology, are enhanced by over 600 illustrations, 1600 etymologies, and 2000 encyclopedic entries. For further guidance, usage notes for commonly confused or misused terms are also included.

With 65 articles from the likes of Adorno, Habermas, McLuhan, and others, this compilation is divided into two sections: the first explores the production, regulation, reception, and consumption of media; the second puts theory into practice, offering various concrete examples.

While never formally recognized as a school of thought in its time, the work of a number of University of Toronto scholars over several decades - most notably Harold Adams Innis and Marshall McLuhan - formulated a number of original attempts to conceptualize communication as a phenomenon, and launched radical and innovative conjectures about its consequences. This landmark collection of essays re-assesses the existence, and re-evaluates the contribution, of the so-called Toronto School of Communication.

Drawing on the writings of leading social and cultural theorists, this book examines six key concepts for understanding the impact of new media on modern culture: information, network, interface, interactivity, archive, and simulation. Each concept is illustrated through a variety of concrete examples.

Cultural Theory: The Key Concepts is an up-to-date and comprehensive survey of over 350 of the key terms central to cultural theory today. Providing clear and succinct introductions to a wide range of subjects, from feminism to postmodernism, Cultural Theory: The Key Concepts continues to be an essential resource for students of literature, sociology, philosophy and media and anyone wrestling with contemporary cultural theory.

Compiling a range of key texts from such thinkers as Althusser, McLuhan, and Chomsky, this anthology includes a substantial critical introduction, brief contextualizing section introductions, and full bibliographic citations.

This standard reference offers quick access to information on media policy and practice, communication and cultural theory. Also included is a chronology of key moments in the development of mass media.

A Companion to Media Studies is a comprehensive collection that brings together new writings by an international team to provide an overview of the theories and methodologies that have produced this most interdisciplinary of fields.

This reference source (2700+ pages in four volumes, in print form) contains over 200 original articles on the history of the world's media, all easily accessible through a searchable subject index. Each article includes a table of contents, a glossary of relevant terms and phrases, and a bibliography of related books, articles, and websites.