Research guides: Information Studies: Home

Home

Starting points

SAGE Knowledge - Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides introductions and lists of key books and articles for the study of many different topics.

Routledge Handbooks Online
Brings together the world’s leading academic experts to provide comprehensive overviews and fresh approaches to traditional and current topics across the Humanities
O'Reilly online learning
access to the most current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology.

Subject-specific databases

Library and Information Studies & Archives

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Keylibrary and information science journals, featuring full-text access and citation information.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstractsfor key library and information science journals, books, and research reports.

Media, Communications, and Society

Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citation information and abstracts for communication and mass media related publications.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.

Data Science, Information Systems, and Technology

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Citations, summaries, reviews, and full-text articles about information technology.
IEEE Xplore / IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference papers, technical standards, books, and educational courses in the fields of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Since Information Studies is interdisciplinary it may be helpful to explore other subject-based guides in Subjects A to Z.

Search Engines & Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

Public Policy

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, papers, statistics, analyses, and data sets focusing on Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) member countries and global economic and development issues
Government of Canada Publications This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to English language Canadian Newspapers.

Data and Statistics

Statistics Canada (English) This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Canada Open Government Portal
Access information that is disclosed as part of the federal government’s commitment to enhance accountability and transparency.

For additional help with Data and Statistics: Drop by the Map & Data Library on the 5th floor of Robarts Library or see the Map and Data Library website

Standards

For more see Techstreet which includes major collections such as ASME, CGSB, CSA, IEC, ISO, NFPA, UL, ASHRAE, ACI, AAMI, and ADA.

News and Media

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
US Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and archival U.S. newspapers, and includes full-text newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to English language Canadian Newspapers.

For more information on newspapers see: Newspapers: Current and Historical

Citation help

Why and how we cite sources in academic writing
The guide includes links to many helpful online tutorials, style guides, and related documents to help you understand citation practice, and build correct citations for your bibliography
Excelsior OWL Citation Style Guides
Support for APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles.
Citation Management Tools Comparison Table Compares the major reference management tools available to U of T students
Citing Elders and Knowledge Keepers
University of Toronto research guide on citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.

For more information and citation styles see the Citing Sources / Create Your Bibliography Research Guide by University of Toronto Libraries

Researrrrch Guides

Information Studies