Some repositories preserve the administrative records of their institution alongside archival materials from community members - faculty, staff, and students. These collections offer insights into the history and operations of the institution, as well as materials that reflect broad areas of research and activity. In doing so, they serve both the academic community and the public, offering resources that deepen understandings of our cultural and historical landscape. Examples include:
Other repositories focus on collecting materials from their community members as well as related individuals and groups beyond their institution. These collections often build on specific subject strengths that complement the institution’s academic areas of focus and/or preserve a facet of Canadian cultural heritage for the university and the public. Examples include:
Below, you’ll find a full list of U of T repositories with brief descriptions of their collecting areas. For details on opening hours, contact information, and mandates, please refer to the links provided.
Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library
Archival materials and special collections documenting East Asian and Asian Canadian cultural heritage, with particular strengths in Japanese Canadian and Chinese Canadian studies.
OISE Library
Archival material and special collections documenting the history of education in Ontario.
Richard Charles Lee Canada-Hong Kong Library
Archival material and special collections supporting Canada-Hong Kong and Chinese Canadian studies.
Ruth Scott Archives, Wycliffe College
Archival material documenting the history of the Wycliffe College, including photographs, student and faculty papers, administrative documents, and materials related to Christian ministry, theological education, and Anglican missions.
Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
Canadian literary, historical, and personal papers (predominantly from the 19th to 21st centuries), with strengths in writers’ archives, publishing, science, medicine, theatre, politics, and book history and print culture.
Trinity College Archives
Archival records for Trinity College’s administrative bodies and affiliated persons and organizations, as well as archival collections supporting research and teaching on Canadian diplomacy, politics, and international relations.
Trinity College John W. Graham Library Rare Books & Special Collections
Archival materials and special collections relating to Trinity College, theological history, and entities such as the Churchill Society and G7/G8/G20.
University of St. Michael's College Archives
Archival material documenting the administrative offices of USMC, the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, and the Regis St. Michael’s Faculty of Theology, as well as the papers of affiliated faculty members, alumni, and student groups.
University of St. Michael's College, John M. Kelly Library, Special Collections
Archival material and special collection supporting research and teaching on Celtic studies, Christianity and culture, mediaeval studies, book and media studies, and the Faculty of Theology.
University of Toronto Archives and Records Management Services
Archival records that document the research, administrative operations, and cultural life of the University of Toronto, reflecting the diverse activities of its faculty, staff, students, and broader community.
University of Toronto Media Archives
Audio-visual archives and special collections relating to Canadian cultural production.
University of Toronto Mississauga Library, Archives & Special Collections
Documentary history of the University of Toronto Mississauga campus and communities, with additional collections supporting research areas relevant to UTM programs.
University of Toronto Music Library
Archival papers of prominent individuals and organizations associated with the Faculty of Music.
University of Toronto Scarborough Library, Archives & Special Collections
Documentary history of the University of Toronto Scarborough campus, with additional collections supporting research areas relevant to UTSC programs.
Victoria University Archives
Victoria's archival records from the 1830s to the present, focusing on university administrative records, the records of the Vic community, with additional collections of artifacts, ephemera, photographs, and more.
Victoria University Library Special Collections
Rare books, manuscripts, and archival materials documenting the studies and careers of Victoria University members.
Discover Archives is a database used to search and browse archival descriptions and finding aids across U of T’s multiple repositories, find direction about how to access material online or in-person, and explore context and connections between the people, culture, and administrations that make up the broad University of Toronto community.
In Discover Archives you can find:
Searching for archival records often requires specific search strategies and planning. Please see the above guidance if you are new to archival research or contact us.
If you are looking for published material such as books or articles, you can use U of T's LibrarySearch. Most archival descriptions in Discover Archives are not currently discoverable through the LibrarySearch interface.
All of U of T’s archival repositories are open to both the University community and the general public. Some archives require visitors to book an appointment, while others offer regular reading room hours for researchers. For details on hours and appointment requirements, visit the Archival Institutions page in Discover Archives, where each repository’s access protocols are detailed.
Special Collections Access is a platform for users to request materials and / or book an appointment. More information about using this tool can be found in this guide. Currently, the following repositories use this system:
Regardless of the method you use to request material, it is most helpful for archivists to know the unique reference number of the material you are looking for.
This is provided either in the Identify Area, for example:
Or Alternative Identifiers section, for example:
Discover Archives describes the archival holdings of U of T’s repositories in both physical and digital formats. Most materials must be consulted in person at their respective repository; however, items available online are linked directly to their descriptions in Discover Archives. To focus your search for online materials only, use the Advanced Search option or click “With digital objects”.
Finally, you can find digital primary sources beyond U of T’s holdings through LibrarySearch. The library catalogue provides access to digitized materials from a wide range of institutions. For guidance, see the Primary Sources at U of T How-to Guide.
