Vaccines - Signup, Safety, Rollout - COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide

What's on this page:

Signup | What You Need to Know about COVID Vaccines in Canada (incl. proof of vaccination) [NEW!] | Availability & Side Effects | Development & Safety

Signup

Am I eligible? Check before signing up:

Toronto:

Toronto - Vaccine Eligibility:

Includes eligibility for qualifying groups, locations for city and hospital clinics.

Ontario:

Ontario - How to book a COVID-19 vaccine appointment (check if you're part of an eligible group & where you can schedule appointments by postal code)
Ontario’s Updated COVID-19 Vaccination Eligibility

More details about eligible groups in the Ontario - Vaccine Eligibility: 3-phase plan:

Phase 1: High-Risk Populations (Dec 2020-Mar 2021)
Phase 2: Mass Deliveries of Vaccines (Apr 2021-Jun 2021)
Phase 3: Steady State of Vaccine Delivery (Jul 2021 onwards)

Canada-wide:

How, when and where to get vaccinated

From the Government of Canada. Information on vaccination rollout plans in each province/territory.

How do I register or sign up for an appointment, or find drop-in clinics?:

Toronto:

Toronto COVID Vaccination Clinics (last update: Jun 29)

Registration links for Toronto-area sites, including hospitals, immunization clinics, and pharmacy clinics.

UHN Vaccine Registry

From the University Health Network (UHN). Includes information for booking eligibility.

COVID-19 Vaccination at Unity Health (last update: May 31)
- From Unity Health Toronto. Includes booking information for a COVID-19 test or vaccine.
Book your COVID-19 Vaccine Appointment, CAMH (last update: Aug 13)
CAMH has a smaller, lower stimulation COVID vaccine clinic, and they support accommodations, including bringing a support person

Indigenous communities support - Call Auntie (last update: May 31)
- Online support for vaccine booking in Tkaronto's hospital, pharmacies, and Indigenous-led clinics
- Indigenous communities now eligible to receive the second vaccine dose 3 weeks after receiving their first
- Phone support available by calling 437-703-8703

How to Get Vaccination Receipts, Show Proof of Vaccination, & Document Your Out of Province or Non-Ontario Stock Vaccine

Information to document your vaccine record - for people who live in Toronto, and either received their vaccine in Toronto or received one dose of a two-dose vaccine outside Ontario.

Ontario:

Ontario Vaccination Online Booking - now open
- Manage Your Appointment(s)
- What to expect when getting a vaccine
- Ontario - alternatives to online booking - by phone or at a regional clinic, or your doctor
- Book a COVID-19 Vaccine in Your Language (PDF)
  - From UHN Patient Education. Information on how to book a COVID-19 vaccine in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), and Vietnamese.
Ontario portal for Pharmacy & Vaccine locations (last update: June 29)
Indigenous COVID-19 Vaccination Clinics

List of Toronto-area and selected Ontario-wide vaccination clinics.

Where can I get vaccinated?

COVID-19 Immunization Clinics Map

From the City of Toronto. A visualized map of COVID-19 Immunization Clinics.

(Images: Check, group, people, team, person, profile, user icon by Ben STAWARZ, Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0)

Clock, manage, schedule, time icon by Laura Reen, Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0))

More help for finding local appointments or drop-in vaccination clinics:

Note: These are community-based initiatives, or created by private companies - not officially affiliated with any provincial or municipal government or public health unit.

Vaccine Hunters Canada
Community-based effort with latest updates on vaccine appointments and pop-up drop-in clinics. Mostly GTA-based, with some Canada-wide updates.
Follow their channels on Discord, Twitter, and Facebook for updates.
Note: As of Apr 28, the City of Toronto has partnered with them as of to provide next-day vaccination clinic availability
Vaccine Finder Toronto
Developed by Alida.
The tool was created to support Toronto residents in navigating COVID-19 vaccine eligibility criteria and to help them find their nearest vaccination locations.

What You Need to Know about COVID Vaccines in Canada

How to Get Proof of Vaccination
For people who live in Toronto, and either received their vaccine in Toronto or received one dose of a two-dose vaccine outside Ontario.
Includes:
- How to Get Vaccination Receipts
- How to Show Proof of Vaccination
- How to document your out of province or non-Ontario stock vaccine

After you've received 2 doses and are fully vaccinated:

(i.e. you have received the full series of a vaccine authorized in Canada at least 14 days ago)

Vaccinated against COVID-19? What does it mean to me?
From the Government of Canada.
Guidance on staying safe after fully vaccinated.
COVID-19: Life after vaccination
From the Government of Canada.
Information for the public to stay safe in spring, summer, and fall as more people getting vaccinated.
When You’ve Been Fully Vaccinated
From CDC, available in different languages.
Guidance for fully vaccinated people on how to protect themselves and others.
Continue to wear a mask, practice social distancing after being vaccinated for COVID-19
From Mayo Clinic's Research Vaccine Group. Explanation of why we still need to wear masks and social distance after being vaccinated.
CANImmunize mobile app
CANImmunize is a tracking system designed to help Canadians keep track of their vaccinations with a mobile app and web portal. Funding partner support from The Public Health Agency of Canada.
COVID-19: Life after vaccination
From the Government of Canada.
Information for the public to stay safe in spring, summer, and fall as more people getting vaccinated.

Is it ok to mix Moderna and Pfizer vaccines to complete my vaccine series? (PDF)
From School of Pharmacy, University of Waterloo.
An one-page fact sheet answering questions about "mixing" vaccines.

Reporting Adverse Events Following Immunization (AEFI) in Canada
From Government of Canada.
Information for the general public and healthcare professionals on reporting adverse events following immunization.
Vaccine safety, concerns and possible side effects
From Government of Canada.
Like any medication or supplement (including vitamins), vaccines can cause side effects and reactions. After being vaccinated, it's common to have mild and harmless side effects. These can last a few hours or days after vaccination. This page include some generic common and rare vaccine side effects.
Possible Side Effects After Getting a COVID-19 Vaccine
From CDC, available in different languages.
Explains common side effects after getting a COVID-19 vaccine and tips to reduce some discomfort.
If You Don’t Get Sick After Your COVID-19 Vaccination, Does It Mean Your Immune System Isn’t Working?
From Cleveland Clinic.
An explanation from an inflammation and immunity specialist.

What impact do the new variants of the COVID-19 virus have on vaccines?
From WHO.
The article covers a series FAQs around COVID-19 variants and vaccines.
So Far, Vaccines Remain Effective Against Variants
From the FactCheck.org, available in English and Spanish.
An explanation of vaccine efficiency against variants.

Can I get vaccinated while pregnant or breastfeeding?
From the Society of Obstetricians & Gynecologists of Canada.
It is recommended that pregnant and breastfeeding people should be offered vaccination when they are eligible as long as they do not have any contraindications.
What parents should know about COVID-19 vaccines and children
From Mayo Clinic.
The article covers some common questions about vaccines and kids.
COVID-19 Vaccines and Pregnancy
From the Johns Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center.
FAQs on the ethics and safety of COVID vaccines for pregnant people.
Can the COVID-19 vaccine affect my periods?
From Medical News Today.
Can I get the COVID-19 vaccine while I am menstruating (having my period)? Will it affect my cycle? Will it make my period heavier?
From the Public Health Association of BC.

Vaccines for children: COVID-19
From Government of Canada.
Provides COVID-19 vaccine information for children and their caregivers in Canada.
COVID-19 Vaccines for Children and Teens
From CDC.
Includes information and resources for children, teens, and caregivers.
COVID-19 vaccines for children and teens: What we do — and don’t — know
From Harvard Medical School.

COVID-19 Vaccines – What Older Canadians Need to Know (.PDF)
From the National Institute on Ageing.
A collection of FAQs related to COVID vaccination for Canadian seniors.
COVID Vaccines: What Seniors Need to Know
From the National Council on Aging (US).

Vaccines for Ontario
From Government of Ontario.
Basic information about vaccines and their availability for Ontarians.
Vaccine rollout in Canada
From Government of Canada. Topics covered include:
- Producing a vaccine
- Securing enough vaccine
- Groups that will get the vaccine first
- Getting ready to distribute
Canada Vaccine Tracker: How many COVID-19 doses have been administered so far?
From the Globe and Mail.
Includes total doses administered and completed vaccinations
Coronavirus Vaccine Tracker
From the New York Times.
Includes all vaccines that have reached human trials. and a selection of promising vaccines still being tested in cells or animals.
U.S. Vaccine Distribution Tracker
From the Washington Post. View vaccination progress by US state.

What you need to know about the COVID-19 vaccine for Canada
From Government of Canada.
Includes what Canadians need to know about a future COVID-19 vaccine, including safety, availability, and prioritization of certain populations.
COVID-19 health resources
From the University of Waterloo.
A collection of vaccine FAQs curated by its School of Pharmacy.
When it’s Best to Get the First COVID-19 Vaccine Available to You (PDF)
From the University of Waterloo.
A decision making tool developed by its School of Pharmacy.
Questions and Answers About COVID-19 Vaccines
From the Ad Council and the COVID Collaborative with the involvement of the CDC.
Provide answers to questions and concerns about benefits of getting vaccinated, vaccine side effects, efficacy, and who should/how to get vaccinated.
Vaccination for COVID-19 – Frequently asked questions
From Canadian Red Cross.
A curated list of FAQs about vaccine safety and suggestions for people who receive their first and/or second dosage of their vaccines.
Q&A on Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) Vaccines
From WHO, updated December 12, 2020.
video...close...
Q: How quickly could COVID-19 vaccines stop the pandemic?
A: The impact of COVID-19 vaccines on the pandemic will depend on several factors, such as the effectiveness of the vaccines; how quickly they are approved, manufactured, and delivered; and how many people get vaccinated.

Q: Will other vaccines help protect me from COVID-19?
A: Currently, there is no evidence that any existing vaccines will protect against COVID-19. However, scientists are studying whether some existing vaccines – such as the Bacille Calmette-Guérin (BCG) vaccine, which is used to prevent tuberculosis – are also effective for COVID-19.

Q: Will COVID-19 vaccines provide long-term protection?
A: It’s too early to know if COVID-19 vaccines will provide long-term protection. Additional research is needed to answer this question. However, it’s encouraging that available data suggest that most people who recover from COVID-19 develop an immune response that provides at least some period of protection against reinfection – although we’re still learning how strong this protection is, and how long it lasts. Most COVID-19 vaccines being tested or reviewed now are using two dose regimens.

Availability & Side Effects

Vaccines approved for use in Canada - At a Glance

Vaccine	Age Groups	Recommended Dosage
Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty COVID-19 Vaccine	12 years of age and older	2 doses
AstraZeneca Vaxzevria COVID-19 Vaccine	18 years of age and older	2 doses
Moderna Spikevax COVID-19 Vaccine	18 years of age and older	2 doses
Janssen (Johnson & Johnson) COVID-19 Vaccine (not yet available in Canada)	18 years of age and older	1 dose

COVID-19 Vaccines and Blood Clots FAQS
From Thrombosis Canada.
Also available as videos and PDFs.
Side Effects of COVID-19 Vaccines
From WHO, available in multiple languages.
Explains why it's normal to have mild side effects from vaccines and more.
A Safe and Effective Second Dose (PDF)
From Government of Ontario.
A fact sheet on second dosage recommendations.
Is it ok to mix Moderna and Pfizer vaccines to complete my vaccine series? (PDF)
From the University of Waterloo.
An one-page fact sheet answering questions about ""mixing"" vaccines.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide

What's on this page:

Signup

Am I eligible? Check before signing up:

Toronto:

Ontario:

Canada-wide:

How do I register or sign up for an appointment, or find drop-in clinics?:

Toronto:

Ontario:

Where can I get vaccinated?

(Images: Check, group, people, team, person, profile, user icon by Ben STAWARZ, Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0)

More help for finding local appointments or drop-in vaccination clinics:

What You Need to Know about COVID Vaccines in Canada

After you've received 2 doses and are fully vaccinated:

Availability & Side Effects

Vaccines approved for use in Canada - At a Glance

Development & Safety

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us