Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide

This guide is a living document. More content will be added as new information and resources become available and as the COVID-19 situation develops. Last updated: May 7, 2021

Resources for treating and managing

This page contains evidence-based resources to support the clinical treatment and public health management of COVID-19:

(Disclaimer)


Quick ICU Training for COVID-19:  Quick reference & study guide for non-intensive care clinicians who are working in ICU settings

For Canadian physicians, nurses, respiratory therapists, and other health professionals who need to upskill, renew, or review critical care knowledge due to COVID-19. Training resource includes quick reference cards, short lectures, videos, and more.

Topics covered: airway, breathing, circulation, disability/sedation, PPE, general ICU care, pandemic triage guidelines.

(Created by clinicians, educators, and scientists from the University of Toronto, McMaster University, University of Ottawa, Unity Health Toronto, Sinai Health System, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Updated regularly).  

Evidence-based Synthesis Resources - Systematic & Rapid Reviews

Diagnosis & Treatment: Point of Care Information

Management: Prevention & Control, Screening & Testing, Reporting

Click the different tabs to see key links to various resources for screening, acute, palliative, and longterm care settings, using PPE, telemedicine, ethics, and more.

Ontario Ministry of Health

Health Canada

CDC

WHO

NIH

  • NIH COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
    • These Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. Guidelines will be updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information becomes available. Subject areas include: overview, critical care, antiviral therapy, immune-based therapy, antithrombotic therapy, and concomitant medications.

Ontario Ministry of Health

COVID-19 guidance: school outbreak management

Health Canada

Public Health Ontario

CDC

FDA

 

Health Canada

CDC

Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA)

Brigham and Women's Hospital

  • COVID-19 clinical guidelines
    • A searchable, 18-chapter protocol guide from Brigham and Women's Hospital covering topics from Clinical Course to specialty-specific guidelines. Also contains quick guides and links.

Toronto Covid Collective

  • Contains sections on Workflow, Management, Remote Monitoring, and Patient-centred Care.

Infographic from BMJ on COVID-19 remote consultations

(Infographic used with permission).

Pallium Canada - COVID-19 Response - Free, Online Modules

  • Free, self-directed online modules for health care professionals working in palliative care during COVID-19. Available until August 31, 2020. Module topics include: decision-making, delirium management and 2 modules on palliative care for COVID illness

Ontario Palliative Care Network - Resources

Canadian Virtual Hospice - COVID-19 Resources

  • This page on COVID-19 resources includes links that may be useful to people working in healthcare and to members of the public who are living with an advanced illness or who are caring for someone with an advanced illness. Updated regularly. 

Ontario Ministry of Health​

Public Health Ontario

  • COVID-19: Infection Prevention and Control Checklist for Long-Term Care and Retirement Homes

    • Created on April 29, 2020, this checklist was created for individuals trained or working under those trained in infection prevention and control (IPAC) in conducting IPAC assessments related to COVID-19 in long-term care and retirement
      homes. It can be used during in-person or virtual visits to provide advice on preparedness and management
      of COVID-19. It can also be used by those working in or supporting long-term care or retirement homes
      for self-assessment and to guide policies, procedures, preparedness and response planning.

Ontario Government 

  • COVID-19: visiting long-term care homes

    • This COVID-19 Visiting Policy (policy) is provided to support homes in implementing the requirements in Directive #3 to safely receive visitors while protecting residents, staff and visitors from the risk of COVID-19. This policy is effective Oct 7, 2020.

BC Centre for Disease Control

  • Long Term Care Facilities & Assisted Living

    • Provided by the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control, this site offers guidance for long-term care facilities including use of personal protective equipment, screening for symptoms, visitors, cleaning and transfers.

Alberta Health Services

  • Guidelines on limiting interactions between patients/residents, families and visitors, as well as physicians and staff providing their care.

Government of Canada


Centre for Disease Control

  • Preparing for COVID-19: Long-term Care Facilities, Nursing Homes 

    • Created by the Centre for Disease Control (CDC), this website offers information on topics including: interim guidance for nursing homes
      things facilities should do now, and when there are cases in the community.

  • Infection Prevention and Control Assessment Tool for Nursing Homes Preparing for COVID-19

    • Created by the Centre for Disease Control (CDC) and designed for nursing homes, long term care homes and health departments, this assessment tool is intended to help these institutions to prepare a response plan for COVID-19. Some of the areas covered in the ICAR (Infection Control Assessment and Response) include visitor restriction, education, monitoring, and screening of residents, ensuring availability of PPE and other supplies, and more.

Canadian Medical Association

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

The Hastings Center

World Health Organization (WHO)

From the WHO Global Health Ethics. Includes statements by national ethics committees, international organizations, and professional organizations.

AMA Journal of Ethics

Includes articles, podcasts, webinars, and other resources.

 

CDC

Search all published guidelines related to COVID-19

Joule CPG Infobase

Joule (CMA) clinical practice guidelines search results for MeSH COVID-19, aggregates results from various Canadian professional medical associations

American Medical Association

  • A Physician's Guide to COVID-19 is compiled from CDC, JAMA and WHO resources. Topics include:
    • Preparing your practice
    • Infection prevention for staff
    • Diagnosis and treatment
    • Communicating with patients
    • Telemedicine

Medscape

  • Index of clinical guidelines posted on MedScape, from a variety of sources including government bodies and professional organizations. Topics include:
    • Specialty-specific - Oncology, obstetrics, cardiology, ophthalmology
    • Airway management/respirators
    • Infection prevention and control
    • Nursing homes
    • Sample collection and testing

Institution for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)

IHI has cultivated a list of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) guidance and resources. Topic sections include:

  • Resources for physicians and other healthcare professionals
  • Hospital and health system administrators
  • Testing
  • Regulation and reimbursement
  • Vaccine hesitancy
  • Surge assessment tools
  • Staff shortages

CADTH COVID-19 Resources

Rapid responses, reports, and other guidance from CADTH and other health organizations on topics such as:

  • prevention
  • infection control
  • screening and testing
  • mental health
  • ethics

CMA/Joule

Essential Evidence Plus COVID-19 Research Briefs, created by the CMA/Joule team. They are working closely with Dr. Mark Ebell, Editor-in-Chief of EE+ and the team at Wiley Publishing to share current research summaries with physicians.

Government of Ontario

Resources to prevent COVID-19 in the workplace issued by the Ontario government. Includes sector-specific guidelines and posters to help protect workers, customers and the general public from coronavirus (COVID-19) in Ontario.

Government of Canada

Remdesivir authorized with conditions for the treatment of patients in Canada with severe COVID-19 symptoms -  The Government of Canada has issued an advisory as of July 28, 2020 that Health Canada has approved of the drug remdesivir to be used as a method of treatment for patients who have "severe symptoms of COVID-19 who have pneumonia and require extra oxygen to help them breathe".

Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan

The Government of Canada's national economic response plan on supporting Canadians, businesses, industries, organizations, and for provinces and territories. 

Vaccine Rollout

Policy Predictors & Trackers

Policy

Resourcing


COVID-19 Acute and Intensive Care Resource Tool (CAIC-RT)

An online tool capable of estimating the maximum daily number of incident COVID-19 cases that a healthcare system could manage based on:

  • age-based case distribution and severity
  • number of available acute and critical care resources

(See also instructions on how to use this tool)

Developed by Vasily Giannakeas, MPH (Women's College Research Institute, Women's College Hospital), Deepit Bhatia, MPH (Dalla Lana School of Public Healthh, University of Toronto), Matthew T. Warkentin, MSc (Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Sinai Health System), Isaac I. Bogoch, MD (Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto), and Nathan M. Stall, MD (Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics, Sinai Health System)

Professional Development - Learning and Training Resources