Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT348H1: Early Modern Ireland to the Famine

CLT348H1: Early Modern Ireland to the Famine - Customized Resources



Map - The Kingdome of Ireland devided into fower provinces: Lemster, Munster, Ulster, Connagh. 1700. Adapted from the New York Public Library. Public Domain.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

Covering the history of the United States and Canada, America History & Life indexes more than 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

JSTOR

Catalogue Search

 
 



Advanced Search

Geography


Place Names

Samuel Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837) - Logainm

Samuel Lewis's Atlas to the Topographical Dictionary of Ireland - Comprising a General Map of Ireland and Maps of the Counties of, etc. (1850) - Logainm

Placenames Database of Ireland (2021) - Logainm

Maps of Ireland

Ireland's History in Maps (2006) - Dennis Walsh / RootsWeb

Ireland (1797) - Library of Congress

Hiberniae, Britannicae Insvlae nova descripto (1598) - Library of Congress

A Pocket Companion of Ireland (1736) - David Rumsey Map Collection

A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland - Northern section (1790) - David Rumsey Map Collection

A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland - Southern section (1790) - David Rumsey Map Collection

Hibernia Regnvm vulgo Ireland - Blaeu Atlas Maior 1662-5, Volume 6 (1665) - National Library of Scotland

A map of Ireland divided into provinces and counties, shewing the great and cross roads with the distances of the principal towns from Dublin (1798) - David Rumsey Map Collection

Ireland (1823) - David Rumsey Map Collection

Maps of Provinces & Counties

An Hibernian Atlas or General Description of the Kingdom of Ireland Divided into Provinces, with its Subdivisions of Counties, Baronies, etc. (1776) - Ask About Ireland

Longfield Map Collection by John Longfield, John Brownrigg, Thomas Murray et al, Land Surveyors, ca 1770-1840 - National Library of Ireland

Taylor & Skinner: Maps of the Roads of Ireland Surveyed (1777) - Internet Archive

Ordnance Survey Ireland National Townland & Historical Map Viewer - Ordnance Survey Ireland

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


The Cambridge History of Ireland.

Volume 1, 600–1550
Volume 2, 1550–1730
Volume 3, 1730–1880

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History - A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Ebooks


Bew, Paul. Ireland the Politics of Enmity, 1789-2006. Princeton University Press, 2016.

Bourke, Richard., and Ian McBride. The Princeton History of Modern Ireland. Oxford University Press, 2009.

Clarkson, Leslie A., and E. Margaret Crawford. Feast and Famine: Food and Nutrition in Ireland, 1500-1920. Oxford University Press, 2001.

Clarkson, Leslie A., and E. Margaret Crawford, Eds.. Famine and Disease in Ireland. Routledge, 2016-2017.

Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4
Volume 5

Cróinín, Dáibhí O., et al. A New History of Ireland. Oxford University Press, 2005.

Volume 1: Prehistoric and Early Ireland
Volume 2: Medieval Ireland, 1169-1534
Volume 3: Early Modern Ireland 1534-1691

Curtis, Edmund. A History of Ireland : from Earliest Times to 1922. Routledge, 2002.

Edwards, Ruth Dudley, and Bridget Hourican. Atlas of Irish History. Routledge, 2005.

Ellis, Steven G. Ireland in the Age of the Tudors 1447-1603: English Expansion and the End of Gaelic Rule. Routledge, 2014.

Forbes, Suzanne. Print and Party Politics in Ireland, 1689-1714. Springer, 2018.

Gibney, John. A Short History of Ireland, 1500-2000. Yale University Press, 2017.

Hoppen, K. Theodore. Ireland Since 1800: Conflict and Conformity. Routledge, 2013.

Kenny, Kevin. Ireland and the British Empire. Oxford University Press, 2006.

Killeen, Richard. A Short History of Modern Ireland. Gill & Macmillan, 2003.

Madden, Kyla.Forkhill Protestants and Forkhill Catholics, 1787-1858. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2005.

McCabe, Ciarán.Begging, Charity, and Religion in Pre-Famine Ireland. Liverpool University Press, 2018.

McMahon, Cian T..The Coffin Ship : Life and Death at Sea During the Great Irish Famine. NYU Press, 2021.

Ó Gráda, Cormac. The Great Irish Famine. Cambridge University Press, 1995.

Pašeta, Senia. Modern Ireland: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2003.

Ranelagh, John. A Short History of Ireland.. Cambridge University Press, 2012.

Somerset Fry, Plantagenet, and Fiona Somerset Fry. A History of Ireland. Routledge, 1991.

Stewart, A. T. Q.. The Shape of Irish History. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2001.