Research Guides: CHM217: Introduction to Analytical Chemistry: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the CHM217 Introduction to Analytical Chemistry Course Guide!

This guide provides links to essential resources for analytical chemistry. Click on the tabs on the left or the Next button at the bottom of this page to find tips and information that will be helpful when preparing for labs and writing your formal laboratory report.

If you need help with any of the resources in this guide, please contact your Chemistry Librarian, Madeline Gerbig at maddy.gerbig@utoronto.ca.

Included in this guide:

Home
Scroll down for essential resources to help you succeed in CHM217, including quick access to useful links.
Reference Resources
Links to books containing important background information for the course. Here you can find your required course texts, as well as other online resources and reference texts that are useful for analytical chemistry.
Before the Lab
Follow these steps to make sure that you are adequately prepared before each lab. Includes links to resources for finding chemical properties and safety info, as well as instructions on how to find journal articles or other references in your lab manual from their citation information.
After the Lab
Follow these steps to help you prepare your formal lab report. Includes tips for analyzing your data, finding relevant literature, writing and formatting your report and properly citing your sources.
Get Help
Find out where to get help with library resources.

Quick Links

Old Exams Repository
Log in with your UTORid and password, then search by course code to take a look at exams from previous years - answers aren't included!
Chemistry Library Home
Visit the Chemistry Library website to learn more about our spaces and services. You can also search for resources using the search bar on our homepage!
LibrarySearch
Journal articles, books and other resources available through UofT Libraries can be found by searching our catalogue and search engine, LibrarySearch.
ChemDraw
ChemDraw is a great tool that allows you to draw molecules, reactions and even experimental setups and copy them into a Word doc and is available for free while you're at UofT. Visit the link above for instructions on how to download and install the software. You must renew your subscription each year in November.
CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Source Index)
Search this resource to find abbreviations for common journals in chemistry, or to identify the title of a journal based on its abbreviation. Remember, all journal titles in your citations must use abbreviations according to ACS Style!

Chemical Properties & Safety Information

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) This link opens in a new window
Contain information about potential hazards as well as the proper use, storage, handling and emergency procedures for the material. To find the MSDS for a chemical, visit this MSDS database and search by chemical name.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific chemical or visit the sections titled "Physical Constants of Organic Compounds" and "Properties of the Elements and Inorganics" for the most relevant information.
Chemspider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free database containing chemical structures and properties, curated by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Search by chemical name, identifier or chemical structure.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry, The Merck Index is an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Particularly useful for pharmaceutical substances.

ACS Citation Style

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by Editors: Dr. Gregory M. Banik, Grace Baysinger, Prof. Prashant Kamat, Prof. Norbert Pienta
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9780841235830
Publication Date: Published January 2020 and updated regularly

The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides up-to-date information on:

Scientific Communication
Scientific Journals
Data in the Google Era
Scientific Style Conventions including important information on formatting of graphics, tables, references and more!
Editorial Style Conventions

Refer to Section 4.3 for information on how to cite your sources using ACS Style. The ACS Style Quick Guide (4.3.3) includes examples of citations for common source types.

Research Guides

CHM217: Introduction to Analytical Chemistry

Your Chemistry Librarian

Welcome!

Included in this guide:

Quick Links

Chemical Properties & Safety Information

ACS Citation Style

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us