Research Guides: CHMD47: Advanced Bio-Organic Chemistry: Online Reference Materials

Online Reference Materials

Knovel
Knovel provides leading science and engineering books and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
A Definitive Scientific Reference -- from Astrochemistry to Zoology
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry (8th Ed)
Clear and authoritative, this popular dictionary provides an invaluable guide to every aspect of chemistry and its related fields. Its coverage is broad, ranging from physical chemistry to biochemistry, and is informed by the most current research.

Web Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)
Used to find the crystal structures and the journal articles that originally reported the structure for chemical compounds.
ChemSpider
Locates chemical information from open access and commercial databases. It gives CAS Registry Numbers, synonyms, structures, and some properties (density, boiling point, melting point) for thousands of compounds.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides free access to chemical and physical property data of over 70,000 compounds. This database gives CAS Registry Numbers, synonyms, and structures and is an excellent source for finding spectral information.
Organic Syntheses
Organic Syntheses: This free resource provides detailed directions for the synthesis of organic compounds. Search all volumes of Organic Syntheses (from 1921 - today) simultaneously by keywords or structure.