Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

VPSB74H3 F LEC01 20239:Drawing II

A guide that will help you find sources and do research to support your assignments.

Search the Commons

The Creative Commons has created a portal through which you can explore and find images that you can reuse. You can find it here: 

Creative Commons Search Interface

Wikimedia Commons

 

What is Creative Commons

Copyright and Creative Commons 

Copyright can be very confusing. When a person creates a creative work, Canadian Law grants them copyright automatically. You cannot copy or make changes to a work without the permission of the author/creator, or unless you are in accordance with rights that are granted under the Copyright Act, including fair dealing. The University of British Columbia has created a handy guide to explain Fair Dealing, which you can explore further. Seeking out licensing (or getting permission from the creator) can be very time consuming. 

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that helps overcome these legal obstacles. In order to do this, Creative Commons provide Creative Commons licenses and public domain tools that provide a standardized way to grant copyright permissions for creative and academic works, help to ensure proper attribution; and allow others to copy, distribute, and make use of those works. They also work closely with major institutions and governments to create, adopt and implement open licensing and ensure the correct use of CC licenses and CC-licensed content. Creative Commons licensing is an example of proactive licensing. 

 

Creative Commons Licenses

There are a variety of Creative Commons licenses. These include the following:

1. Attribution CC BY - This license allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator. The license allows for commercial use.CC BY includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator.2. Attribution-NoDerivs - CC BY-ND - 

2. Attribution-NoDerivs - CC BY-NDThis license allows reusers to copy and distribute the material in any medium or format in unadapted form only, and only so long as attribution is given to the creator. The license allows for commercial use. 

CC BY-ND includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator
ND  – No derivatives or adaptations of the work are permitted

3Attribution-NonCommercial - CC BY-NC: This license allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format for noncommercial purposes only, and only so long as attribution is given to the creator. 

It includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator
NC  – Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted

4. Attribution-ShareAlike - CC BY-SA - 

This license allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator. The license allows for commercial use. If you remix, adapt, or build upon the material, you must license the modified material under identical terms.

CC BY-SA includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator
SA  – Adaptations must be shared under the same terms

5. Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike - CC BY-NC-SA: This license allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format for noncommercial purposes only, and only so long as attribution is given to the creator. If you remix, adapt, or build upon the material, you must license the modified material under identical terms. 

CC BY-NC-SA includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator
NC  – Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted
SA  – Adaptations must be shared under the same terms

6. Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs - CC BY-NC-ND: This license allows reusers to copy and distribute the material in any medium or format in unadapted form only, for noncommercial purposes only, and only so long as attribution is given to the creator. 

CC BY-NC-ND includes the following elements:
BY  – Credit must be given to the creator
NC  – Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted
ND  – No derivatives or adaptations of the work are permitted

Please note that all above information comes from the Creative Commons website "About CC Licenses"

Here is a great infographic created by Foter that will help you understand the various licenses:

CC License Requirements - Foter - CC by-sa 2.5-ca

Please note that this guide has heavily borrowed from the wonderful work done by the University of British Columbia and their Copyright at UBC site, and more specifically the Creative Commons Guide.

JSTOR images

Welcome to JSTOR for images!

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines and allows you to search across these sources. Usually known for its journal articles, JSTOR now provides a wealth of images as well, and will house....(enter a statement about FADIS here). 

Register for an Account 

You can access JSTOR at this URL: https://www-jstor-org.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/ 

If you have not done so previously, register for a JSTOR account. This will allow you to get the most benefits from the platform. 

Fill in the full registration form: 

If you have registered for an ARTSTOR account in the past, you are also able to use that account to log into JSTOR as well.