What is a database?
A library database is an online searchable collection of information which contains scholarly peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, books, book reviews, magazine articles, dissertations/theses...etc. There are some useful education databases listed below, but you can also see a complete list of subject databases available at the University of Toronto Libraries by subject here: https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/subjects-a-z
Why search in a database?
Databases are an excellent tool in the research toolkit and should be explored in addition to tools like LibrarySearch and Google Scholar. Subject-specific and interdisciplinary databases, such as the examples listed below, are a vital part of a robust literature search strategy. As opposed to LibrarySearch or larger search engines like Google Scholar, searching, in smaller subject databases can help anchor your searching in a particular field of study (eg. education). Instead of finding everything on the web available on Google Scholar, you could try using an education database like Education Source, to more simply explore the research published in the field of education.
Consider using the following techniques to make your search more efficient:
Subject Headings that may be of use to you include:
Other key terms and related terms that you may want to include in your article searches:
Searching multiple databases at the same time can make your searches more efficient, particularly when you have a research question that crosses multiple disciplines.
