Research guides: CRTB02H3F- Exhibiting Art: Background Research

Encyclopedia - FAQ

Why use encyclopedias?

To find:

definitions of terms, keywords
background information
ideas to start your search

Why avoid encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias are only meant to give you basic background information to help you understand your topic.

Why use artists/gallery websites?

To find:

Information on artists that are very contemporary
links/citations to additional sources about the artist
Canadian artists

How are library encyclopedias different from Wikipedia?

Online and print encyclopedias from the Library have been checked for accuracy and quality. Wikipedia hasn't.

Additionally, the iSchool has developed a Museum Studies Library Guide that has numerous wonderful resources as well.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Bibliographies for Art History

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window

Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work. It contains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources).
Concise Dictionary of Art Terms
Over 1,900 entries
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in art
This reference work provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. For anyone who studies, creates, collects, or deals in works of art, this book is an indispensable resource.
Oxford Companion to Western Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains more than 2,600 entries and provides discriminating and reliable coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work. Articles give fresh treatment to topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. In addition to thorough regional and cultural surveys, this publication lists all relevant museums and galleries under the city of their location, such as Barcelona and Moscow.

CRTB02H3F- Exhibiting Art

Websites on Museum and Gallery Management

Encyclopedia - FAQ

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Bibliographies for Art History

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us