MUI @ UTM

Links to sources of information and data about the City of Toronto.

Links to sources of information and data about Scarborough.

Canada’s national resource on municipal and regional issues. The 'Research' section links to Canadian city information resources while the 'Library' section features new titles acquired by the library associated with Muniscope and links to saved searches of the catalogue that can highlight relevant resources on a topic. MUI students can register for a free account - select the Public Library/University option.

A "... a world-leading centre for innovative interdisciplinary urban research, education and engagement."

A research institute with a mandate to "... facilitate critical, interdisciplinary and collaborative research on a wide range of urban matters and to promote dialogue on Canada’s urban agenda at York and beyond."

A "... national platform that houses the best in Canadian city building – where policymakers, urban professionals, civic and business leaders, community activists and academics can learn, share and collaborate with one another from coast to coast to coast."

Blog content and other media produced by the publisher of Spacing magazine. Covers Canadian urban issues at both a local and national level. Articles from the magazine archives can be accessed through print back copies at the University's Architecture, Landscape and Design Library.

This organization "... [advocates] for excellence in planning, [promotes] education and resident empowerment, and [provides its] with the tools and support necessary to ethically meet the challenges of growth and change."

A "nonprofit research organization" that aims to provide "unbiased, authoritative insights that inform consequential choices about the well-being of people and places in the United States." Home to the widely-read blog Urban Wire.

Offers "... resources, contacts and networking for those looking to improve the quality of life in wintertime and need information on what is being done in other northern places."

A research and policy program focused on "... solutions to urban challenges—such as poverty, exclusion, insecurity, and environmental degradation—by promoting evidence-based research to support sustainable, equitable and peaceful cities."

Offers news and insights on "... the story of the world's cities, communities, and neighborhoods." Includes a free email newsletter.

A long-running, activemessage board for planners, placemakers, "... urbanists, suburbanists, small developers, planning and [municipal and regional ecoonomic development] students. Includes forums on 'Workplace and Careers' and 'Community and Economic Development.'

Tracks news and trends "... shaping cities and municipalities." Topics covered are energy & utilities, transportation, building & infrastructure, environment, resilience, governance, tech & data. US-centric. A free email newsletter with headlines is available for sign-up.

An independent, non-peer reviewed publication that covers the "...worlds of community development, affordable housing, and neighborhood stabilization." US-centric.

Highlights urban architecture and design innovations. Includes blog posts from its network of contributors - schools, academics, and firms.

An "...ndependent resource for people passionate about planning and related fields." Includes news and commentary on planning and urban issues and annual rankings of websites, books and Twitter feeds. US-centric but does include some coverage of international developments.

An open source tool that alllows users to design and 'remix' street landscapes to see the impact of changes.

A podcast series that explores how to make "... better cities". Recent episodes covered street design in Korcula, Croatia, a South London public housing project, and climate adaptation strategies for cities.

A curated list of TED talks about urban issues and the future of cities.