Research Guides: Contemporary Visual Arts Research Guide: Film and Video Art

Searching for Films and Videos

How do you begin your search?

Search by Title
Search by a Feature Film
Search by Genre
Search by Country

For a detailed guide on UofT's Film and Video collection and searching strategies - click here!

Noteworthy Collections

Asian Film Online
Over 1000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts made by independent Asian filmmakers are included in this collection.
Criterion-on-Demand
Feature Films from film studios - many titles available in both English and French

Docuseek Canadian Collection
Exclusive access to content from acclaimed documentary film distribution leaders. Docuseek streams independent, social-issue and environmental films.
Electronic Arts Intermix
EAI assists artists by distributing, preserving, exhibiting, and representing their media artworks, and collaborates closely with educators, curators, programmers, and collectors to facilitate exhibitions, acquisitions, as well as educational uses of media artworks.

FADIS (Federated Academic Digital Imaging System)
A learning management and courseware system developed for image-based teaching of art, architecture and visual culture. This visual database includes online film collections.
Kanopy
Find the movies and documentaries your lecturer has recommended, as well as ones that will expand your horizons and get people talking, as well as timeless classics and international films that will show you how people from different cultures live, think, and perceive the world we all share.

MyMedia
The user interface can be used for organizing and sharing your media, uploading files in a variety of audio and video file types, and more. All media files are re-encoded for use on the web in a standard format. enables you to upload and manage your media assets via a simple web interface.

New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990?Present
One of the most researched types of video material is the feature film. It, therefore, comes as no surprise that a key topic of research today is the social and cultural effects of film on society.

Open Access

A Few Open-Access Films on the Internet

A full list of open-access films on the internet can be found here - Media Commons Streaming Video

Check out!

Image and Visual Resource Collections
Created by Dr. Harriet Sonne de Torrens, University of Toronto Mississauga

Citing Films and Videos

When to cite?

Any film or video you plan to use in a scholarly work should be cited. Sources for media must be cited even if they have been retrieved from a free or public domain.

For more information, go to our Writing and Citation page.

Research Guides

Contemporary Visual Arts Research Guide

Searching for Films and Videos

How do you begin your search?

Search by Title

Search by a Feature Film

Search by Genre

Search by Country

For a detailed guide on UofT's Film and Video collection and searching strategies - click here!

Noteworthy Collections

Open Access

A full list of open-access films on the internet can be found here - Media Commons Streaming Video

Check out!

Citing Films and Videos

When to cite?

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us