Research Guides: MGHD28: Compensation: Research Databases

Research Databases

Explore these scholarly journals, news sources & industry databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database containing full‐text journals and business press titles as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, and more.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of economic research.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Industry Profiles

Download research reports on many industries examining trends, key players, forecasts, etc.

Use the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes to identify your industry and so that you can search across many resources with common terminology.

Crunchbase
Detailed investment information on startup companies, executives, and investors in Canada and globally. Search the Business Graph to link them all together.
Industry Canada. Canadian industry statistics.
This government source provides data and analysis of sectors of the Canadian economy, including data on number of establishments, production and costs, employment, salary and wages.

Statistics Canada (English) This link opens in a new window
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Emerging markets information as well as global industry reports from BMI Research and GRDS among others.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research and strategy reports in 15 major sectors with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
In-depth Canadian, U.S., and global industry reports, with expert summary reports and specialized reports on niche industries.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Global company search engine featuring company profiles, capital stock information, reports, subsidiaries, and more.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of more than 20 industries, with focus on consumer products and services, including reports, statistics and visualization tools. Includes consumer data and packaging and ingredients information. Reports updated annually.

Finding Compensation Information

Public Companies

Public companies disclose compensation information for their executives. Use Capital IQ to search for a company. Click "Compensation" from the left menu.

You can also find this information in Information Circulars (Also known as Proxy Statement or DEF14A).

Private Companies

Private companies do not have to release compensation data, but you can search the web, including the company website, for this information in case it has been published.

Some private company information may be found in the research databases listed on this page, or by searching the company on the library website.

What is Financial & Market Data?

Financial data is data on a company's profits, revenues, operating income, charges for services, costs of providing services, revenues generated from services and revenues from other sources, etc.

Market data is price and trade-related data for a financial instrument reported by a trading venue such as a stock exchange.

Real-Time Financial & Market Data

Access information on thousands of public & private companies, markets, deals and executives, including:

Company filings and financials
Historical data
Transactions (debt, equity, M&A)
Screen for companies to meet your investment criteria

Bloomberg
Bloomberg is a platform that provides real-time financial market data including price quotes, news, and analytics with a unique system interface. It is both a standalone application and a Microsoft Excel plug-in.
Capital IQ
Capital IQ is a research and data analysis tool used to retrieve information on public & private companies, including: financial statements, M&A activity debt, equity offerings and IPOs, corporate executives, compensation, comparable companies, precedent transactions, custom charts, macroeconomic data, financial modelling and company news.
FactSet
FactSet is a research platform that consolidates all the analytics and data professionals need to monitor global markets, public and private companies, and equity and fixed income portfolios in a single interface.
LSEG Datastream
Accounts available for coursework and research only
LSEG – Datastream gives you access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools - all in a highly customized experience on desktop, web and mobile. With its integrated developer environment, you can also use and analyze data flexibly with modern APIs and popular languages like Python.

Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
A premier resource for comprehensive data on the global capital markets and proprietary research and insights. A PitchBook academic account is required to access this resource.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) provides access to a variety of business data, including financial, economic, and marketing data. WRDS provides access to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, IBES, NYSE-TAQ, Global Insight, OptionMetrics and other important business research databases.

MGHD28: Compensation

Research Databases

Industry Profiles

Finding Compensation Information

Public Companies

Private Companies

What is Financial & Market Data?

Real-Time Financial & Market Data

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us