Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ERS311H5: Sedimentology and Basin Analysis

Suggested Geology Websites

Evaluating Websites

When using Internet sources, remember to evaluate the websites first to ensure they are credible sources.

Keep in mind the 5 W's:

Who? Is the writer an authority on the topic?

What? What is the purpose of the information?

Where? Where does the information come from?

When? Is the information current? 

Why? What is the purpose of the information?

Article Finder

Enter citation information into the Article Finder to determine if we have online access to the full text of a particular article.  The Article Finder can search on journal titles and abbreviations (and supplementary volume, issue, author, title and page information), ISSN numbers, DOIs, or PMIDs.  You can also use the Article Finder to create a permanent link to an article.

Ellstrand, Norman C. and Mikeal L. Roose (1987), Patterns of Genotypic Diversity in Clonal Plant Species. American Journal of Botany, 74 (1): 123–131.

Screen shot of the article finder tool. Important fields for the user to fill out when searching for an article include: format, journal, volume, issue, page, and year.

Note if you do not get any results, try entering just the journal title or abbreviation. 

Don't despair if you don't find it on Article Finder!  try also looking for the journal on e-journals or even search google or google scholar as a final try.  You may be surprised by how much is available for free. If you do find a journal that is freely available but not on our journals list you can contact your librarian and request that the journal is added to our collections, or borrow the article from another University Library collection by using RACER.

Searching for Articles

To find articles, from the U of T library homepage, you can search using either the article search option or through subject specific databases.

The advanced search option for articles allows you to use key words. By narrowing down your search results using the facets on the left hand side, you can find relevant articles. Also, if you know the specific details of the article you are looking for, such as volume, issue and/or title, this is where you can search for it.

It is likely that you will receive an overwhelming amount of results, but by selecting the appropriate search filters, format and subject options, you can narrow down your results.

Choose an appropriate database that pertains to the subject you are researching by selecting "Subjects A-Z". For example, if we select "Ecology" from this list, we see all of the relevant databases that contain relevant articles, such as Ecology Abstracts or Environmental Science & Pollution Management.This will also lead you to other resources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.