Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide

This guide is a living document. More content will be added as new information and resources become available and as the COVID-19 situation develops. Last updated: Oct 26, 2020

Making Personal Protective Equipment, Medical Devices & Supplies

This section has been created by the Engineering & Computer Science Library, U of T Libraries, and will be regularly updated.

(Disclaimer)


*NOTE: The 3D printing service at the MADLab is currently closed.  However, requests for consultation and support for 3D printing and 3D design questions may be directed to gerstein.3dprinting[at]utoronto.ca.*

 

Standards for PPE and more

Medical devices, personal protective equipment, ventilators, masks, gowns and other medical supplies should meet manufacturing and testing standards to ensure they are safe for use. Below, you will find a select list of standards from a number of standards organizations, available through the University of Toronto Libraries. You will be asked for your UTORid and password to access the standards.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources listed further down this page.

This is not an exhaustive list, and you may need to consult other resources. You may also want to consult the Standards & Codes research guide for more information on standards. 

Note: Please ensure that the standards you are using are appropriate for the geographic area you are designing for, as different jurisdictions have different requirements. For example, if you are designing for Canada you may want to visit:  

For more information on standards access at the University of Toronto, please contact the Engineering & Computer Science Library.

Gowns / Protective Clothing

Access the standards below by clicking on the links. You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

You may also want to search for additional standards in the standards collections further down this page. 

 

Gloves

Access the standards below by clicking on the links. You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

You may also want to search for additional standards in the standards collections further down this page. 

 

Hand Sanitizer

Access the standards below by clicking on the links. You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

You may also want to search for additional standards in the standards collections further down this page. 

Ventilators

Access the standards below by clicking on the links. You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

You may also want to search for additional standards in the standards collections further down this page. 

You may also want to visit this page from the Government of Canada about the expedited review of of ventilators during the COVID-19 crisis: 

Standards:

Respirators

Access the standards below by clicking on the links. You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

You may also want to search for additional standards in the standards collections further down this page. 

 

Miscellaneous standards

Standards collections

Search these standards collections using keywords or by standards number.  You will be asked for your UTORid and password, if you have not already signed in.  If you are not a member of U of T, you can check out the free resources linked further down this page - some standards organizations have made their standards viewable in order to enable increased manufacturing of these products. 

 

Free Resources

A number of standards organizations have made some of their standards related to PPE, ventilators, etc. available for free in read-only format during the pandemic to facilitate manufacturing and testing. In addition, some resources, like the WHO standards, are always free. 

Please note that those affiliated with U of T may already have access to these resources through the University of Toronto Libraries. 

Free resources for specifications and prototypes

Many companies, universities, and research facilities have made their prototypes for personal protective equipment, medical equipment, and other resources available for free online to promote innovation and enable others to manufacture similar devices.  

 

Disclaimer: These links have been provided for information purposes only. We have not verified that these designs meet safety and design criteria, so please check the standards and laws relevant for your jurisdiction.  For example: 

Specification and prototype collections

Software

Some software providers have provided longer trial periods or increased access to their software to make it easier to work remotely and encourage innovation. 

Patent searching

You may want to search for patents to determine if your design has already been patented, and if designs that have already been patented are still under patent protection. 

For more information about patent searching, please see the Research Guide for patent searching: 

Here are some of the patent databases and collections you may want to include in your search: 

Below are some Cooperative Patent Classifications that can be used to find relevant patents using the patents databases listed above. Please note, this is not an exhaustive list. 

Masks

A41D13/1115 Protective face masks, e.g. for surgical use, or for use in foul atmospheres characterised by their shape with a horizontal pleated pocket 

A41D13/1123 Protective face masks, e.g. for surgical use, or for use in foul atmospheres characterised by their shape with a duckbill configuration 

A41D13/1138 Protective face masks, e.g. for surgical use, or for use in foul atmospheres characterised by their shape with a cup configuration 

A41D13/1161 Means for fastening to the user's head 

A41D13/1176 Means for fastening to the user's head using adhesive forming a complete seal at the edges of the mask 

A41D13/1184 Protective face masks, e.g. for surgical use, or for use in foul atmospheres with protection for the eyes, e.g. using shield or visor 

A41D13/1192 Protective face masks, e.g. for surgical use, or for use in foul atmospheres with antimicrobial agent 

A41D31/30 Antimicrobial, e.g. antibacterial 

A61F9/029 Additional functions or features, e.g. protection for other parts of the face such as ears, nose or mouth; Screen wipers or cleaning devices 

A61M16/06 Respiratory or anaesthetic masks 

A61M16/106 Filters in a path 

A61M16/107 Filters in a path in the inspiratory path 

A61M16/142 Preparation of respiratory gases or vapours by mixing different fluids, one of them being in a liquid phase with semi-permeable walls separating the liquid from the respiratory gas 

A61M16/0605 Means for improving the adaptation of the mask to the patient 

A61M16/1065 - Filters in a path in the expiratory path 

A61M16/1045 Devices for humidifying or heating the inspired gas by using recovered moisture or heat from the expired gas 

A61M2016/0661 Respiratory or anaesthetic masks with customised shape 

A61M2205/75 General characteristics of the apparatus with filters 

A62B18/02 Masks 

A62B18/025 Halfmasks 

A62B18/082 Assembling eyepieces, lenses or vision-correction means in or on gas-masks 

A62B23/02 Filters for breathing-protection purposes for respirators 

A62B23/025 - Filters for breathing-protection purposes for respirators the filter having substantially the shape of a mask 

B01D39/1623 Other self-supporting filtering material ; Other filtering material of organic material, e.g. synthetic fibres the material being fibrous of synthetic origin 

B01D39/18 Other self-supporting filtering material ; Other filtering material of organic material, e.g. synthetic fibres the material being cellulose or derivatives thereof 

B01D2239/065 More than one layer present in the filtering material 

B01D2239/10 Filtering material manufacturing 

B29C70/88 Shaping composites, i.e. plastics material comprising reinforcements, fillers or preformed parts, e.g. inserts characterised primarily by possessing specific properties, e.g. electrically conductive or locally reinforced

Face shields/protective eyewear

A61B5/6803 Head-worn items, e.g. helmets, masks, headphones or goggles 

A61F9/02 Goggles 

A61F9/029 Additional functions or features, e.g. protection for other parts of the face such as ears, nose or mouth; Screen wipers or cleaning devices 

A61F9/045 Eye-shades or visors; Shields beside, between or below the eyes 

G02C11/00 Non-optical adjuncts; Attachment thereof 

G02C11/12 Side shields for protection of the eyes

Medical gowns

A41D13/1209 Surgeons' gowns or dresses 

A41D13/1227 Surgeons' gowns or dresses with liquid-proof sleeves 

A41D13/1245 Patients' garments for the upper part of the body 

A41D13/1254 Patients' garments for the lower part of the body 

A41D19/0089 Joints between glove and cuff or garment 

A41D27/10 Sleeves; Armholes 

A41D31/02 Layered materials 

A41D31/305 Antimicrobial, e.g. antibacterial using layered materials 

A41F9/025 Adjustable belts or girdles 

A44D2203/00 Fastening by use of magnets 

A63B60/14 Coverings specially adapted for handles, e.g. sleeves or ribbons 

B29C65/48 Joining or sealing of preformed parts, e.g. welding of plastics materials; Apparatus therefor using adhesives, i.e. using supplementary joining material; solvent bonding 

B29C66/5221 Joining tubular articles for forming coaxial connections, i.e. the tubular articles to be joined forming a zero angle relative to each other 

B29C66/612 Making circumferential joints 

B29C66/7294 Non woven mats, e.g. felt 

B32B2307/7265 Non-permeable 

B32B2437/00 Clothing 

B32B27/12 Layered products comprising a layer of synthetic resin next to a fibrous or filamentary layer 

B32B5/022 Non-woven fabric 

Y10S2/901 Antibacterial, antitoxin, or clean room 

Y10S2/912 Garment having a hook-loop type fastener 

Y10S2/915 Chest encircling, e.g. shirt, vest having plural body encircling layers, e.g. coat

Gloves

A41D13/0005 Joints 

A41D13/08 Arm or hand 

A41D13/081 Hand protectors 

A41D19/00 Gloves (general) 

A41D 19/0003 gloves with ambidextrous shape 

A41D 19/04 - Appliances for making gloves; Measuring devices for glove-making 

A41D19/015 Protective gloves 

A41D19/01582 Protective gloves with means to restrain or support the hand 

A41D 19/0041 - gloves with retaining means for connecting the glove to the garment or the arm of the user 

A41D19/0048 Cuff portions with cuff securing features 

A41D 19/0055 - Plastic or rubber gloves 

A41D19/0058 Three-dimensional gloves 

A41D19/0062 Three-dimensional gloves made of one layer of material 

A41D19/0075 - Plastic or rubber gloves permitting handling and containing of waste materials 

A41D19/0089 Joints between glove and cuff or garment 

A41D19/0096 Means for resisting mechanical agressions, e.g. cutting or piercing 

A41D31/24 Resistant to mechanical stress, e.g. pierce-proof 

A61B42/00  Surgical gloves; Finger-stalls specially adapted for surgery; Devices for handling or treatment thereof 

A61B42/10 Surgical gloves 

B29D99/0067 Gloves 

B29C41/14 Dipping a core 

B29L2031/4864 Gloves 

C09J7/21 Paper; Textile fabrics 

Y10S428/911 Penetration resistant layer 

Y10T428/14 Layer or component removable to expose adhesive 

Respirators

A61M 1600 A61M16/00 Devices for influencing the respiratory system of patients by gas treatment, e.g. mouth-to-mouth respiration; Tracheal tubes
A62B7/10 Respiratory apparatus with filter elements (RU2618434C2) Exhaust device with power supply for respiratory personal protector  

A62B18/006 - Breathing masks or helmets, e.g. affording protection against chemical agents or for use at high altitudes or incorporating a pump or compressor for reducing the inhalation effort with pumps for forced ventilation 

A62B23/02 Filters for breathing-protection purposes for respirators 

F04D25/08 Units comprising pumps and their driving means the working fluid being air, e.g. for ventilation 

F04D27/004 Control, e.g. regulation, of pumps, pumping installations or systems by varying driving speed  

COVID-19 patent datasets