Click the different tabs to see key links to various resources for screening, acute, palliative, and longterm care settings, using PPE, telemedicine, ethics, and more.

Ontario Ministry of Health

Infection Prevention and Control Hubs

Health Canada

• Infection prevention and control for coronavirus disease
• Reducing COVID-19 risk in community settings: A tool for operators
• Risk-informed decision-making guidelines for workplaces and businesses during the COVID-19 pandemic
• Risk mitigation tool for outdoor recreation spaces and activities operating during the COVID-19 pandemic
• COVID-19: Guidance on indoor ventilation during the pandemic

CDC

• Infection control guidance
• Hospital preparedness checklist

WHO

Hospital readiness checklist for COVID-19

NIH

NIH COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines

These Treatment Guidelines have been developed to inform clinicians how to care for patients with COVID-19. Guidelines will be updated frequently as published data and other authoritative information becomes available. Subject areas include: overview, critical care, antiviral therapy, immune-based therapy, antithrombotic therapy, and concomitant medications.

National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI)

• Summary of updated NACI vaccine statement of June 17, 2021 |  Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines (PDF) (June 17, 2021) |  Table of updates (June 17, 2021)
• Summary of NACI rapid response of June 1, 2021 (PDF) |  NACI rapid response: Interchangeability of authorized COVID-19 vaccines (PDF) (June 1, 2021)
• Summary of updated NACI vaccine statement of May 28, 2021 |  Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines (PDF) (May 28, 2021) |  Table of updates (May 28, 2021)
• Summary of NACI statement of May 18, 2021 |  Recommendations on the use of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine in adolescents 12 to 18 years of age (May 18, 2021)
• Summary of updated vaccine statement of May 3, 2021 |  Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines - update (May 3, 2021)
• Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines (Apr 23, 2021)

• Extended dose intervals for COVID-19 vaccines to optimize early vaccine rollout and population protection in Canada in the context of limited vaccine supply (Apr 7, 2021)

• Rapid Response: Recommended use of AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine in younger adults (Mar 29, 2021)

• Summary of updated vaccine statement (Mar 16, 2021) | Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines (Mar 16, 2021)

• Rapid Response: Extended dose intervals for COVID-19 vaccines to optimize early vaccine rollout and population protection in Canada - includes updated extended intervals between 1st and second doses (Mar 8, 2021)
• Recommendations on the use of COVID-19 vaccines (March 1, 2021)

• Guidance on the prioritization of key populations for COVID-19 immunization (Feb 12, 2021)

• Planning guidance for administration of COVID-19 vaccine (Dec 21, 2020)
• Preliminary guidance on key populations for early COVID-19 immunization (Nov 3, 2020)
• Interim guidance on continuity of immunization programs during the COVID-19 pandemic (May 13, 2020)

Vaccine Delivery Plan around the Globe

Health Canada

• SARS-CoV-2 Biosafety Advisory
• Requirements for serological antibody tests submitted under the COVID-19 Interim Order: Guidance 

Public Health Ontario

• COVID-19 Quick Reference Public Health Guidance on Testing and Clearance (PDF)
• COVID-19 Testing
• Provincial Antigen Screening Program

To prevent asymptomatic individuals from unknowingly spreading COVID-19covid 19 in the workplace. Currently, any organization  permitted to open under the Reopening Ontario Act and where individuals must be physically present on site may be eligible to participate in the program.

CDC

• Evaluation and testing
• Guidelines for clinical specimens
• Interim Guidelines for COVID-19 Antibody Testing

FDA

• Real-Time RT-PCR Diagnostic Panel fact sheet

Health Canada

• Guidance for acute healthcare settings

CDC

• Clinical care guidance
• Decontamination and reuse of filtering facepiece respirators

Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA)

• Guidance on treatment and management of COVID-19 patients (publications on diagnostics and infection prevention forthcoming)

Brigham and Women's Hospital

• COVID-19 clinical guidelines
  • A searchable, 18-chapter protocol guide from Brigham and Women's Hospital covering topics from Clinical Course to specialty-specific guidelines. Also contains quick guides and links.

Toronto Covid Collective

• Contains sections on Workflow, Management, Remote Monitoring, and Patient-centred Care.

(Infographic used with permission).

Health Canada

• Selection and use of personal protective equipment

CDC

• Optimize PPE supply

Ontario Ministry of Health​

• COVID-19 Long-Term Care Communications

• COVID-19: Guidance for the Health Sector

  • Collection of healthcare guidance resources on topics such as operational requirements, hospice care, paramedic services, visitors to long-term care homes, screening and testing, mental health, and religious services, among others. Last updated Oct 9, 2020.

Public Health Ontario

• COVID-19: Infection Prevention and Control Checklist for Long-Term Care and Retirement Homes

  • Created on April 29, 2020, this checklist was created for individuals trained or working under those trained in infection prevention and control (IPAC) in conducting IPAC assessments related to COVID-19 in long-term care and retirement
    homes. It can be used during in-person or virtual visits to provide advice on preparedness and management
    of COVID-19. It can also be used by those working in or supporting long-term care or retirement homes
    for self-assessment and to guide policies, procedures, preparedness and response planning.

Ontario Government 

• COVID-19: visiting long-term care homes

  • This COVID-19 Visiting Policy (policy) is provided to support homes in implementing the requirements in Directive #3 to safely receive visitors while protecting residents, staff and visitors from the risk of COVID-19. This policy is effective Oct 7, 2020.

BC Centre for Disease Control

• Long Term Care Facilities & Assisted Living

  • Provided by the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control, this site offers guidance for long-term care facilities including use of personal protective equipment, screening for symptoms, visitors, cleaning and transfers.

Alberta Health Services

• Family Support & Visitation of Patients & Residents: Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

• Guidelines on limiting interactions between patients/residents, families and visitors, as well as physicians and staff providing their care.

Government of Canada

• Infection Prevention and Control for COVID-19: Interim Guidance for Long Term Care Homes

  • A comprehensive document that covers infection prevention and control in long-term care homes (LTCH) during the COVID-19 crisis. Topics include screening, resident care and infection control methods, outbreak management and handling lab specimens. Last updated April 8, will be updated as needed.

• Using Ventilation and filtration to reduce aerosol transmission of COVID-19 in long-term care homes

  • The recommendations are intended for long-term care homes (LTCH) managers and maintenance personnel. The content may be adapted to other settings as appropriate (i.e., retirement homes, elder lodges).

Centre for Disease Control

• Preparing for COVID-19: Long-term Care Facilities, Nursing Homes 

  • Created by the Centre for Disease Control (CDC), this website offers information on topics including: interim guidance for nursing homes
    things facilities should do now, and when there are cases in the community.

• Infection Prevention and Control Assessment Tool for Nursing Homes Preparing for COVID-19

  • Created by the Centre for Disease Control (CDC) and designed for nursing homes, long term care homes and health departments, this assessment tool is intended to help these institutions to prepare a response plan for COVID-19. Some of the areas covered in the ICAR (Infection Control Assessment and Response) include visitor restriction, education, monitoring, and screening of residents, ensuring availability of PPE and other supplies, and more.

Canadian Medical Association

• Framework for Ethical Decision Making During the Coronavirus Pandemic

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

• Tackling coronavirus (COVID-19) Contributing to a global effort

The Hastings Center

• Ethics Resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19)

  • The Hastings Center has assembled ethics resources for responding to novel coronavirus Covid-19. They are updating this hub   throughout the crisis.

World Health Organization (WHO)

• Resources on ethics and COVID-19

From the WHO Global Health Ethics. Includes statements by national ethics committees, international organizations, and professional organizations.

AMA Journal of Ethics

• Covid-19 Ethics Resource Centre

Includes articles, podcasts, webinars, and other resources.

Ontario Ministry of Health

• Guidance for Primary Care Providers in a Community Setting
• Guidance for Home and Community Care Providers
• Guidance for Paramedic Services
• Guidance for Community Pharmacies
• Guidance for Consumption and Treatment Services
• Guidance for Mental Health and Addictions Service Providers in Community Settings

College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO):

COVID-19 FAQS for Physicians  (Last updated Sept 23, 2021)

Contains FAQs regarding pandemic-related practice issues:

• providing care
• COVID-19 vaccines
• supporting the support response system
• physician safety
• prescribing
• professionalism and complaints
• critical care triage

Joule CPG Infobase

Joule (CMA) clinical practice guidelines search results for MeSH COVID-19, aggregates results from various Canadian professional medical associations

American Medical Association

A Physician's Guide to COVID-19 is compiled from CDC, JAMA and WHO resources. Topics include:

• Preparing your practice
• Infection prevention for staff
• Diagnosis and treatment
• Communicating with patients
• Telemedicine

Medscape

Index of clinical guidelines posted on MedScape, from a variety of sources including government bodies and professional organizations. Topics include:

• Specialty-specific - Oncology, obstetrics, cardiology, ophthalmology
• Airway management/respirators
• Infection prevention and control
• Nursing homes
• Sample collection and testing

Institution for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)

IHI has cultivated a list of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) guidance and resources. Topic sections include:

• Resources for physicians and other healthcare professionals
• Hospital and health system administrators
• Testing
• Regulation and reimbursement
• Vaccine hesitancy
• Surge assessment tools
• Staff shortages

CADTH COVID-19 Resources

Rapid responses, reports, and other guidance from CADTH and other health organizations on topics such as:

• prevention
• infection control
• screening and testing
• mental health
• ethics

CMA/Joule

Essential Evidence Plus COVID-19 Research Briefs, created by the CMA/Joule team. They are working closely with Dr. Mark Ebell, Editor-in-Chief of EE+ and the team at Wiley Publishing to share current research summaries with physicians.

Government of Ontario

• Resources to prevent COVID-19 in the workplace issued by the Ontario government. Includes sector-specific guidelines and posters to help protect workers, customers and the general public from coronavirus (COVID-19) in Ontario.
• COVID-19 Guidance for the Health Sector published by the Ministry of Health Ontario provides guidance includes case definition, travel,  sand vaccine-related information and planning resources.

Health Canada

Health Canada toolkit: COVID-19 and substance use 

Provides information to support health care providers to understand their options in providing care for their patients who use drugs during the pandemic.

Government of Canada

Remdesivir authorized with conditions for the treatment of patients in Canada with severe COVID-19 symptoms -  The Government of Canada has issued an advisory as of July 28, 2020 that Health Canada has approved of the drug remdesivir to be used as a method of treatment for patients who have "severe symptoms of COVID-19 who have pneumonia and require extra oxygen to help them breathe".

Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan

The Government of Canada's national economic response plan on supporting Canadians, businesses, industries, organizations, and for provinces and territories. 

CDC

Search all published guidelines related to COVID-19

Other Health Organizations: