Research guides: Legal History: Key Databases

Key Databases

HeinOnline

Legal Classics Library
This database contains thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more.
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
This database brings early English manuscripts, yearbooks and more to the forefront, providing access to English and American legal history. In addition to primary publications, researchers will also find some of the most influential digests, abridgments, and modern encyclopedias that formed the foundation of English law.
World Constitutions Illustrated
This database enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries.
World Trials
The World Trials database contains trial transcripts and other critical court documents, but also trial-related resources such as monographs that analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials. It also includes biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.

Making of Modern Law

The Making of Modern Law covers nearly every aspect of American and British law and dig deep into the legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia, and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary. Encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, these collections support and complement the traditional study of law by featuring valuable books from the most influential legal writers throughout history.

Other Legal History Databases

America, History and Life
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Canadiana Online
Formerly called Early Canadiana Online (ECO). Canadiana Online is a full-text digital collection of book, pamphlet and serial primary sources, published up to the early 20th century, relating to Canadian literature, history, travel and exploration, native studies and the history of French Canada
EEBO: Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains digital facsimile page images from more than 130,000 titles .
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
LLMC Digital Law Library
LLMC Digital preserves global legal and government content. Coverage includes Canada, US, UK and international materials.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
'The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History' examines history from ancient to modern times, bringing together the study of ancient law with the study of modern law, examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts.

Legal History

Key Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us