Research guides: Grey literature : Government information

Government information

Government information offers access to a wealth of grey literature including reports, statistics, maps; material related to public health, technology-based industry and the advancement of science. It also provides the most detailed primary sources for the study of an extensive range of topics.

Google custom search for government information

Select the jurisdiction from the drop down menu to search government information from Canada, U.S. Mexico, Africa, Asia & Pacific, Latin America & Caribean, Europe, Middle East and IGOs.

Note: the Google custom search for Canadian Government information was created by Carleton University. It covers federal, provincial and municipal levels of government.

Enter a search term in English may not get the best results for jurisdictions using languages other than English.

Government information research guides & Open Access repositories

Canadian government information
- Government of Canada official website
- Government Publications Canada
- GALLOP Portal: an Open Access Repository supported by a federated search portal covering both federal and provincial government publications
- CanLII: "provides access to various types of secondary law materials, from law books, journals, articles, reports, and other resources"
- Federal Science Library: a portal provides access to repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place
Foreign govenment informaton
- govinfo: an Open Access Repository provides access to official publications from all three branches of U.S. federal government
- CRS Reports: CRS is the public policy research section of the U.S. Congress
- GAO: Reports & Testimonies: provides "timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can improve government operations"
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS): provides access to over two million citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense
Public policy: key government resources
- Library of Parliament Research Publications: "provide non-partisan, reliable and timely information and analysis on current and emerging issues, legislation and major public policy topics"
- White papers
  - official documents presented by Ministers of the Crown which state and explain the government's policy on certain issues
  - 1939 - 2014 (Archive-It, University of Toronto)
  - Government of Canada Publications: search "government policy" under subject for policy publications
- Green papers
  - official documents sponsored by Ministers of the Crown which are issued by the government to invite public comment and discussion on an issue prior to policy formulation
  - 1971 - 2010 (Archive-It, University of Toronto)
  - Government of Canada Publications: search "policy" or "consultations" under subject for policy publications
- Government responses to committee reports
Statistics
UN & Intergovernmental organizations (IGOs)

Researrrrch Guides

Grey literature

Government information

Google custom search for government information

Government information research guides & Open Access repositories

Patents

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us