Search for Fantasy Films

Explore Oxford Bibliographies for Important Films, Filmmakers & Research

These are annotated bibliographies on different topics that highlight key works (films), key contributors  (filmmakers, actors) and  important publications.

• Fantasy Film  
  • LAST MODIFIED: September 25 2019
  • This article includes sections on: Fantasy Worlds and World Building, Escapism, Ideology and Politics, Major Directors of Fantasy Films, Fairytale Films
  • It cannot be used as one of your academic sources.
• All Oxford Bibliographies for Cinema and Media Studies in Library Catalogue

Encyclopedia of Fantasy is available freely online. Click on "Headword List" to open up the complete list of contents or submit a search using the "Google full-text search" window:

The more recent the film, the less scholarly information you will find because scholarly articles and books will take longer to reach publication with the research and editing.

This means that your research will focus on:

• Finding film reviews on the recent film and identifying comparisons to other films or filmmakers
• Examining other works by the filmmaker or films dealing with similar themes and seeking books, book chapters and scholarly articles on those topics or theories

e.g., Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (2019) VS. Maleficent (2014) VS. Maleficent in Sleeping Beauty (1959) 

Search for Fantasy DVDs & Blurays 

a) Search ALL UofT Libraries collections

• Use the "search within" checkbox to look up titles of DVDs and Blurays
• Limit the search results by Library (click on the "+More" link to see full list) 

b) Media Commons

• mediacommons.library.utoronto.ca 
• Media Commons is University of Toronto's Film Library and it is located on the 3rd Floor of Robarts Library. 

Don't have a DVD or BluRay Player?

• Use the viewing stations at Media Commons.
• Borrow on of Media Commons' external disc drives to view DVDs on your computer
• Book one of the Media Commons' small group study rooms (3026 and 3027; each seats 6). These are available for student use on a first come, first served basis. Bookings may be requested by approaching the Media Commons service desk.

Find Online Fantasy Films 

a) Search through Media Commons Website

• Visit: https://mediacommons.library.utoronto.ca
• Click checkbox next to "Online Films" under the search bar

b) Search Online Film Collections 

• Online Film Collections via UofT Catalogue
• Online Films for Viewing (Open Access)
• Criterion on Demand contains Feature films from the major studios