Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Image Collections for Sciences and Social Sciences

Image collections for the Sciences and Social Sciences.

General Science Collections

American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.

Cell Image Library Over 10,000 unique datasets and 20 TB of data.

Chemspider, is a  free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Harvard Specimen Database Museum of comparative Zoology.

Instruments for Science, 1800-1914: Scientific Trade Catalogs in Smithsonian Collections Search or browse by company name or instrument to find images from trade catalogs and other commercial documents. 

Mineral Database

National Geographic Photo Archive   Can browse photos by category; such as, Landscapes, Nature & Weather, Science & Space, Underwater, etc. 

New York Public Library Collections:

      Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration

      Classic Illustrated Zoologies and Related Works, 1550-1900 

     Nature Illustrated: Flowers, Plants, and Trees, 1550-1900

Places & Spaces : Mapping Science  Mapping Science communicates human activity through maps by visualizing data. Click on Browse Maps to see examples.

Royal Society of Chemistry, Periodic Tables

Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center  Search over 550,000 image and other media files within the Smithsonian Collections.

The Edgar Smith History of Chemistry Collection Images showing the history of chemistry prior to 1850.

Wildscreen Arkive videos, photos.

Wikimedia Commons Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository with public domain and freely-licensed educational media.