Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Electrical and Computer Engineering

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of electrical and computer engineering

What is a peer-reviewed journal article?

You can use a database to find articles related to computer science. A database will search hundreds or even thousands of journals at once. U of T subscribes to multiple article databases that you can use to find articles from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources of information.

What is a peer-reviewed journal article? 

Peer-reviewed articles are papers written and edited by experts in the field published in reputable journals. They are reliable sources of accurate information. You can check whether a journal is peer-reviewed by searching for it through Ulrich's Serials Analysis System.

What is grey literature? 

Grey literature is information or research either unpublished or published outside of traditional commercial or academic means. The accuracy and quality of the information may be variable, but it still has potential to be relevant in your research.

For more information on grey literature, check out our comprehensive guide!

Databases

Subject specific databases vs Interdisciplinary databases

  • Subject specific databases will have a collection of information about a specific field, such as ECE 
  • Interdisciplinary databases will have a collection of information about many different fields, such as biology, health, engineering, social sciences, etc.

Top database picks for Electrical and Computer Engineering:

Subject Specific

Interdisciplinary

Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book or article not available in print or online through the University of Toronto, feel free to use our Interlibrary Loan services, RACER, to request the item from another library.

TSpace - University of Toronto's Open Access Repository

What is open access (OA)?

Open access refers to scholarly research that is freely available online, without cost or most licensing restrictions. It encourages the unrestricted sharing of research with everyone, everywhere, for the advancement of knowledge in society. For more information visit UofT's guide on Open Access Basics.

TSpace is a free and secure research repository established by University of Toronto Libraries to disseminate and preserve the scholarly record of the University of Toronto community, including faculty and graduate student research. You will be able to find pre-prints and manuscript versions of research for free by visiting TSpace, our university repository.