Research Guides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Books & e-Books

Using LibrarySearch

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can access LibrarySearch from the Home | Engineering & Computer Science Library (utoronto.ca).

Some possible keywords related to Electrical and Computer Engineering are:

Electrical Engineering
Computer Engineering
Computer Science

Bioelectrical Engineering
Intelligent Systems
Software Engineering

Power Engineering
Systems and Control
Telecommunications

Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book or article not available in print or online through the University of Toronto, feel free to use our Interlibrary Loan services to request the item from another library.

How to look for books on our shelves

The Engineering and Computer Science Library uses the Library of Congress system for shelving and cataloguing which may be unfamiliar with some patrons. We have provided an example below so that you can navigate our shelves with greater ease.

Stacks

151

.S8

2004

Books in our library may be categorized as Stacks (can be checked out) or Reference (for library use only)

The Classification sorts books by similar subjects, read this line in alphabetical order: A, B... T, TA...

This line is also related to the Classification of the book, read this line as a whole number: 1, 2... 150, 151...

The Cutter sorts books by Author name, read this line alphabetically then as a decimal: .A1, B2... .S78, .S8...

The Date refers normally to the publication date and is arranged chronologically: 2001, 2002... 2004...

Types of Books

When should I use handbooks or manuals?

You already know a bit about the topic
You want to find instructions, guidelines, or rules

Electrical Engineer's Reference Book by D. F. Warne (Editor); M. A. Laughton (Editor)
For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook by Wai-Kai Chen
The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems.
Computer Engineering Handbook by C. H. Chen
Call Number: Stacks TK7888.3 .C652 1992
This handbook provides a comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals as well as the developments in computer engineering. Written for computer and electronics professionals in both industry and academia, the book covers computer hardware, systems, and applications, with topics ranging from computer arithmetic and digital logic to computer graphics, parallel computing systems, and VLSI system design. It also covers the latest advances in computer engineering such as computer architectures for artificial intelligence and neural networks, architectures for computer vision and image processing, vector processors in signal processing, neural network computing, optical computing, and more.
Electrical Safety Handbook 3E by John Cadick; Mary Capelli-Schellpfeffer; Dennis K. Neitzel
Call Number: Reference Material TK152 .C22 2006X
Revised to include references to the 2005 edition of the National Electrical Code and current Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, this reference source for the range of aspects of electrical safety opens with chapters on the necessity of electrical safety, types of electrical safety equipment, electrical safety procedures, an
Electrical Estimating Methods by Paul H. DeLong (Editor); Mary P. Greene (Editor); Andrea St. Ours (Editor); Carl W. Linde (Illustrator); John H. Chiang (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Material TK435 .M428 2003
This comprehensive reference covers the ins and outs of estimating electrical work. You'll find: Sample estimates and cost information based on the CSI MasterFormat, UNIFORMAT II and RSMeans Electrical Cost Data Complete coverage of fiber optics and uninterruptible power supply electrical systems Comprehensive estimating guidance for all types of electrical construction Unique format quickly directs you to the correct estimating procedures Illustrated electrical system is broken down by components and explained in detail The best takeoff methods, and advantages and drawbacks of different electrical construction methods New chapter on computerized estimating methods This book also includes sample estimates and cost information, including 70 modules that clarify estimating standards in a user-friendly format.
Industrial Electronics and Systems Handbook by J. David Irwin
Call Number: Reference Material TK7881 .I52 1997X
From traditional topics that form the core of industrial electronics, to new and emerging concepts and technologies, The Industrial Electronics Handbook, in a single volume, has the field covered. Nowhere else will you find so much information on so many major topics in the field. For facts you need every day, and for discussions on topics you have only dreamed of, The Industrial Electronics Handbook is an ideal reference.

When should I use dictionaries?

Finding definitions for terms or concepts

Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering by Philip A. Laplante (Editor)
Succinct yet comprehensive coverage of the most important terms, acronyms, and definitions made the first edition of the Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering a bestseller. Recent advances in many disciplines of this rapidly growing field have made necessary a new edition of this must-have reference. This authoritative lexicon includes more than 1500 additional terms, now supplying more than 11,000 total terms gathered by a stellar international panel of the world's leading experts, compiled from CRC's immensely popular and highly respected handbooks, and accompanied by more than 120 tables and illustrations. New areas to this edition include: Process Control and Instrumentation Embedded Sensors and Systems Biomedical Engineering Hybrid Vehicles Mechatronics Data Storage GIS Includes new terms reflecting the rapid growth in: Computer Electronics Image Processing Nanotechnology Fuel Cells
IEEE 100 : the authoritative dictionary of IEEE standards terms. by Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Call Number: Reference Material TK9 .I28 2000

When should I use encyclopedias?

Background information
Familiarizing yourself with a new topic

Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, 24 Volume Set (print) by John G. Webster (Editor)
Call Number: TK9 .W55 2000
ISBN: 0471139467
Publication Date: 1999-03-25
This 24 volume set offers comprehensive coverage of the electrical and electronics engineering field. Covers wide range of information from power systems and communications to advanced applications in neural networks and robotics.
Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronic Power Engineering (ebook) by Jorge Garcia (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0128232110
Publication Date: 2023-03-16
Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronic Power Engineering, Three Volume Set provides a detailed reference on power engineering, presenting comprehensive information from a beginner's perspective. Users will save a dramatic amount of time and effort when searching for foundational information on any specific topic within power engineering. Each topic is covered at a consistent level of detail using a consistent and clearly laid-out structure and approach. This dedicated, rigorous encyclopedia is designed to present summarized information with technical foundations, but also with practical applicability of the collected information. This book will be a key tool for a variety of individuals, including design power engineers, technical staff, researchers in the field, and faculty, students and trainees in academic institutions. Integrates the key concepts of power engineering into a single, comprehensive source of information, thus saving researchers a significant amount of time Presents a highly searchable, systematic approach, giving appropriate space to each subject in this wide-ranging field, from pure mathematics and physics, to specific topics of applied engineering design Encourages readers to gain a high-quality, contextualized, wide-scope view of the specific problem they're aiming to solve

Research Guides

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Finding Books in the library

Engineering & Computer Science Library

Using LibrarySearch

Interlibrary Loans

How to look for books on our shelves

Types of Books

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us