Skip to Main Content

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The TRC received its mandate through Schedule N of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. It was formally established on June 1, 2008 by an Order in Council. Appointed as commissioners on the same day were Justice Harry LaForme, Claudette Dumont-Smith, and Jane Brewin Morley.

Due to conflicts and perceived political interference, Justice LaForme resigned as chair in October 2008. Commissioners Dumont-Smith and Brewin Morley resigned in June 2009.

Justice Murray Sinclair was appointed the new chair of the TRC on July 1, 2009, along with commissioners Chief Wilton Littlechild and Marie Wilson, and the TRC was formally re-launched by Governor General Michaëlle Jean on October 15, 2009.